Skip to content
Pretty over Practical

I have a white french provincial dresser in my office. It was a lucky find one day while thrifting. I spotted it around back at the donation drop-off. When I got inside I asked about it and the sales person said that they were inundated with furniture so for ten bucks it was mine! It is in great shape except for one of the pulls that is broken in half. It has been sitting like this for a couple of months…I have been waiting for inspiration.

One of my favorite blogs is Altar’d. I downloaded their eBook on refinishing furniture and it was the most helpful guide…well worth the ten dollars.          How-To-Paint-Furniture-Guide.html

Anyway, Mandie’s go-to bright aqua color is “Caribe” by Behr. After seeing some of the pieces she had done with it, I had the inspiration I’d been waiting for. It also gave me a chance to try out Behr Premium Plus Ultra (which has the primer built in). Since priming is my least favorite part of refinishing, I’d thought it was worth a try. I have to say I’m a believer…I love this paint.

Once my bland dresser got a POP of color all that was left was the hardware. I liked the existing pulls but couldn’t repair the broken one and I couldn’t find a close enough match. Since I needed 9 pulls, I needed to come up with a thrifty alternative.

My daughter and I were at Michaels and cruising the $1.50 section when the prettiest Damask chandelier charms caught my eye. I stood there racking my brain for what to do with them. I knew I’d use them in my office since it has black and white damask wallpaper. Then it hit me… they would make really cool pulls!

Since I don’t have the luxury of a Hobby Lobby (and their 1/2 price hardware) close by,  I figured $1.50 per pull was the cheapest I would find. So after the paint dried I tied them through the empty holes. I love the look. It’s like jewelry for furniture! No, they aren’t very practical but since I’m the only one that opens the drawers it’s fine. I figure every once in a while pretty should come before practical!



Linking up with:
Funky Junk InteriorsThe DIY Show OffPhotobucket

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. Lisa P. #

    Your dresser is gorgeous and the pulls are beautiful and very creative. I’ve never had the pleasure of a Hobby Lobby so Michaels has always been my go to place and I always think my selection is limited at best. I have read only good things about the Behr Ultra paint and plan to use it on my next project. Thanks for sharing.

    September 5, 2010
  2. Funny, I just painted our front door turquoise, and Caribe was one of the colours I was considering 🙂 It looks great on your dresser, and I love your solution for inexpensive pulls. The damask charms are perfect!!

    Kelly @ DesignTies

    September 6, 2010
  3. that is so neat! i love what you did for the hardware, and the color is gorgeous!

    September 6, 2010
  4. I love this color! and the pulls are genius! Whatta great piece!

    September 6, 2010
  5. That’s such a 60s combo — quite the wow factor. I hope you’ll stop by to see us on Friday because you are going to loooove the sheet set we have for our giveaway. Hint — same colors! Jane F.

    September 6, 2010
  6. The dresser looks great that color. I love it with the black and white wallpaper !

    September 7, 2010
  7. I love all things french. I especially love your paint job! Thanks for your kind words about my pillow. I am looking forward to checking your past posts out!

    September 7, 2010
  8. I LOVE that colour! Good eye!
    Hey, I am your geographical opposite. Grew up in Canada and now live down south! Hope you like it up there!

    September 7, 2010
  9. This is just amazing!! Great job and that color is so stunning!! I would love to have you as a friend at Frou Frou Decor! I would also like to invite you to link your creations up at my weekly Fabulous Friday Finds party..every Friday! Hope to see you there!
    Hugs,
    ~Terrell @ Frou Frou Decor~

    September 7, 2010
  10. Cute! And the pulls look great!

    September 9, 2010
  11. You did a fantastic job!! I love the pop with the damask print- WOW! Thank you so much for buying my ebook guide! I love the Behr line- and “Embellished Blue” is another top pick of mine. (It was my first signature color, and it’s really pretty with glaze) Your dresser is amazing, and the price tag was unbelieveable!

    September 16, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. “The Look” for less | Maple & Magnolia
  2. re-do take two « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

