Skip to content
Plate Hangers for Pennies!

There is nothing prettier than a collection of plates hanging on the wall. It’s such an easy way to add charm to any room in the house.

The only problem for me with hanging plates is the horrible plate hangers. They make that awful nails-on-a-chalkboard sound as they sccrrrrraaaaaappppeeee across the edge of the plate. Or the spring stretches so tight if you let go you’ll shoot your eye out or break a finger!

That’s when I stumbled onto a super-easy, super-thrifty alternative to plate hangers. Buy a package of sawtooth picture hangers. You get a ton in a package for next to nothing. Then put it on the back of the plate and hot glue it in place. Done. This is how I now hang all of my plates and platters. Plate hangers for pennies. Love it.

Linking up to:PhotobucketFunky Junk Interiors

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. Omaga….NEVER would have thought of this! And I can never make my plate arrangements look so beautiful. Do you use a super strong hot glue? I’ve heard there’s like 2 levels of strength. ‘Cause knowing me, I’d use the wrong kind and my antique platters would come tumbling down onto my floor or one of my kids’ heads 🙂

    September 9, 2010
    • Cindy, Just make sure it’s a high heat glue gun. Mine have been hanging like that for months and I have some pretty heavy platters. After I glue them on, I pull on them pretty hard to test them and they never budge.

      September 9, 2010
  2. Lisa #

    Now that is a brilliant idea! I’ve almost lost an eye with the other type.

    September 9, 2010
  3. Wow, that’s a good idea!

    Donna

    September 9, 2010
  4. That is a GREAT idea! Your displays look really pretty. I love the mix of coordinated plate patterns, it’s just like working with material. Very nice!

    Donna

    September 9, 2010
  5. What a clever idea! Thanks, I’m out to go buy me some saw tooths!

    September 9, 2010
  6. I am so gonna have to try this…CAN’T stand seeing the hanger…GREAT idea!
    Rene’

    September 9, 2010
  7. Absolutely BRILLIANT!! Thank you so much for sharing. :0) ~m.

    September 9, 2010
  8. Now that is a smart idea…thanks for sharing!

    September 10, 2010
  9. Great idea, and your wall looks elegant. Thanks for sharing the tip. Cherry Kay

    September 11, 2010
  10. Brilliant! I’m afraid of the other kind of plate hangers!

    October 4, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. “The Look” for less | Maple & Magnolia
  2. anatomy of a {thrifty} guest cottage bedroom | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

