Skip to content
Roadside Rescue Part 3

Sometimes I just can’t believe what people throw away.  Here’s what I rescued from the side of the road today:

A beautiful antique chair…such an easy project! It’s in great shape. Just needs a little paint and new fabric.  I can’t believe they just threw it out.

An antique carpenter’s tool caddy…gray with chippy paint. How pretty will this be on a coffee table full of blue mason jars holding fresh flowers?

These super tall, hinged white shutters that are going to be gorgeous in the corner of my dining room. Craziness…pure craziness. Oh, duh.  I just realized these are just half of a closet door.  Oh well, I still like them. 🙂

I just don’t understand why people are so quick to throw things out and fail to see the potential?  Well, except maybe for my last free find. This one put me (at least in my kid’s minds oh yeah, and my husband’s too) in the category of Mom’s finally lost it….
She’s a real beauty, eh?

Linking up to: Photobucket http://linda-coastalcharm.blogspot.com/

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh girl…I redid a rocker like that, and everyone thought I’d completely gone batso. I did too removing all those dang staples! You can see how mine turned out here (I’ve actually redone it twice now):
    http://cottageinstincts.blogspot.com/2010/08/sorta-reveal-of-cottage-back-porch.html

    Can’t wait to see how you transform your loot 🙂

    September 14, 2010
    • Oh my gosh, Cindy. That is exactly how I had it transformed in my mind! Looks great! I’ll post mine when I’m done.

      September 14, 2010
  2. The little loveseat is going to be so cute when you get ahold of it!! love the caddy too!

    September 14, 2010
  3. All great stuff! That loveseat is going to be awesome. Fantastic finds!!

    September 14, 2010
  4. Joy #

    Wow! what great finds! I love the shutters and the antique carpenter’s tool caddy, and all for FREE 🙂

    September 14, 2010
  5. What fabulous finds! I can’t believe the chair. ..and the tool caddy is just fantastic. Way to go! Linda

    September 14, 2010
  6. OMG! You are so lucky to find such Treasure! You can tell the bad economy has hit here…no more roadside finds :(:(
    So disappointing!! LOL
    Have fun revamping your lovelies!
    *hugs*deb

    September 14, 2010
  7. The tool caddy is beautiful! I love the color of it. What a great find.

    September 14, 2010
  8. Looks like Maple arms on the loveseat? Anything maple grabbed my mother’s attention, which is maybe why I prefer the extremes of pine or oak. I spent many hours helping her take things apart.
    I still have an atteraction to chairs needing love.

    September 14, 2010
  9. you crack me up Susan…isn’t it funny how we can look at something and think of how it can change for the better….so I have a question? Does Canada not have a trash service? It just seems like people just leave all their stuff for you to pick up!! I don’t see those kinds of things here in Michigan….lol

    September 14, 2010
  10. Jane #

    I can’t believe people put that stuff out on the curb either! I never find things like that on the road. The chair looks to be in great shape and the caddy will be perfect to decorate for all of the seasons.
    Jane

    September 14, 2010
  11. TOTALLY loving this!! I snag the same things when I see them! It’s great to have a good eye, huh? I loving giving things a new life! Way to go, girly! I’d love to have you as a friend at Frou Frou Decor! I’d also like to invite you to link your sweet creations up at my link party each Friday! Hope to see you there!!
    Hugs,
    ~Terrell @ Frou Frou Decor~

    September 14, 2010
  12. Great eye – great finds….Thanks for sharing…

    September 15, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

