Skip to content
“The Look” for less

We all love “the look.” We all want “the look.” You know the one…you open the Pottery Barn or Ballard Designs catalog and want every room in your home to look like that! The angels are singing, your heart is palpitating and then BAM….you see the price and go into a state of sticker shock.

If you are like me, your wheels are constantly turning trying to find ways to get “the look” for less. In some cases, a LOT less! 🙂

Today I was at Michaels, cruising the $1.50 section. It seems a lot of my inspiration comes from there! http://mapleandmagnolia.com/2010/09/05/prettyoverpractical/

They have a new vintage line that is just beautiful. All the things that are popular right now, yet timeless…birdcages, clocks, chandeliers, skeleton keys, arm chairs, and vintage typewriters. I bought a few packages of rub-ons and came home and got to work!

This is a very simple project and best of all, you get a lot of flash for very  little cash!

Here’s how I did it.

Step 1: Find some white plates (any shape, any size, any number). You know you have a stockpile of white plates just waiting for a project!

Step 2: Arrange them on the floor until you like the layout.

Step 3: Open the rub-on packages and cut out the image you want. Leave a border…don’t cut too close to the image. Cut through the plastic AND the paper backing).

Step 4: Place the images on the plates and make sure you like how it looks.

Step 5: Use the popsicle stick that’s included in the rub-on package and adhere the rub-on to the center of the plate.  (Take the paper backing off first). Be sure to hold the image cut out with your non rubbing hand. I found that rubbing firmly in circles has the best results. Peel up a corner to see if it’s adhering. If not, keep rubbing!

Step 6: Use my Plate Hangers for Pennies trick: http://mapleandmagnolia.com/2010/09/09/plate-hangers-for-pennies/

Step 7: Hang them on the wall.

Step 8:  Stand back, admire your work, and congratulate yourself for getting “the look” without breaking the bank!
Linking up to:http://twiceremembered.blogspot.com

The DIY Show Off
All Thingz Related My Backyard EdenPhotobucketsouthern hospitality

25 Comments Post a comment
  1. I don’t even know how I found you, but I LOVE you! Every single project you do is exactly my style and I feel so inspired after looking at your creations! It isn’t often that I surf a blog and like EVERYTHING! Thanks for sharing your wonderful ideas. Now I feel all energized to CREATE! 🙂

    September 13, 2010
  2. ann #

    Oh my goodness…I love this project!! And the best part is that this is one that I can actually do.:o) Also, I think the plates look fantastic on the black and white wall.
    Thanks for a great idea.
    Fondly,
    Ann
    @
    The Tattered Tassel

    September 13, 2010
  3. Those look great makes me want to make some for myself!

    September 14, 2010
  4. Wow – this is so cute!! I love the look of the decals on the white plates. What a great idea. Thanks!!
    ~stopping by from All Thingz Related~

    September 14, 2010
  5. What darling plates!! I have seen where they spray paint the plates and so this could be quite a cheap project using old plates!
    Coming over from All things Related
    bee blessed
    mary

    September 14, 2010
  6. I just bought some of these yesterday at Michaels and thought they were so cute! Love your idea using the plates and they look fantastic on the black and white wall.

    September 14, 2010
  7. WOW! Very impressive display. I think I could do this!! I even have a stack of ivory small plates in a stack … what are the odds, lol. Awesome job!!

    September 14, 2010
  8. Ewa #

    these are just great, love that idea!

    September 14, 2010
  9. oh my gosh! What an amazing idea…I love how you have the plates laid out…what a simple and elegant wall decor idea…your mind just must be going all the time with creative ideas….keep’ em comin!

    September 14, 2010
  10. You are fabulous! What a fantastic idea! I just love this and my head is already spinning with ideas. Thank you so much for this inspiration.

    September 14, 2010
  11. What a wonderful idea…thank you for sharing!! So happy I stopped by ~ you blog is great!!

    September 14, 2010
  12. Wow! I just bought a bunch of those this week, not even having any idea what I’ll do with it, just knew I had to have them..
    Thanks for the great idea!

    September 14, 2010
  13. Oh I love this. I am going to have to get to Michaels and see if ours has these, darling!
    Linda

    September 14, 2010
  14. I love this! I truly love it. Great job!!!
    ~Tana

    September 15, 2010
  15. Wow, what a great project. I plan on doing this one as soon as I find some plates. I love your blog.

    September 15, 2010
  16. Just adorable. Very striking diplay.

    September 16, 2010
  17. this is gorgeous and i love the images… i am a michael’s gal myself but haven’t seen this rub ons in there yet. i’d love for you to link up to my a crafty soiree party tomorrow

    September 16, 2010
  18. Love this idea and will be giving you a shoutout next week. I’ll come back and give you the link for it! Oh, and I’m here via Perfectly Imperfect 🙂 but I’ve already bookmarked you so I’ll be back!

    September 18, 2010
  19. Love this! I have not seen these at Michaels – I will be going there soon to look for them! Great idea!

    September 18, 2010
  20. Wow! What a creative and clever blog you have. I will be returning! This is fabulous. Thank you for the tutorial and links. I think I know what a lot of bloggers will be busy making this week!

    Deborah

    September 19, 2010
  21. I just saw this on All Things Related, and I HAD to come over and check it out!! This idea is fabulous! I’ve never used rub-ons before, but I’ve seen them all over blogland, and now I am convinced that I have to get some for myself! I LOVE the ones that you chose! I may have to go see if my Michaels has them right now… :] Thanks for inspiring me!

    September 20, 2010
  22. I stumbled onto your blog-how lucky-love your ideas-the rub ons to plates-the plate hanger sawtoothy things-wow-so happy to find you-keep inspiring me and come by for a visit!

    September 25, 2010
  23. Just wanted to let you know that I did this project – I put a link back to here in my post! Thanks so much for sharing this – I loved it!

    http://thelittlebrownhouse.us/2010/09/30/black-and-white-transfer/

    October 1, 2010
  24. i love this idea! -denise

    October 4, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

