Skip to content
Rockin Red Retro Kitchen Cabinet

Out of all of the pieces of furniture that I’ve refinished/redone, none have been as challenging, tedious, or rewarding as this piece.  I found it at a garage sale and knew it had potential.  

It was in great shape structurally but it had a sloppy, glossy brown paint job from decades before. The inside was a hideous peach and disgustingly dirty.  The first order of business was to get it clean! I scrubbed the inside with Clorox wipes until it was sparkling and all the cooties were gone.

Next, I sanded and sanded and sanded to remove the glossy, drippy, brown paint. The original color was a vintage pistachio color that was very pretty.  You can see it in the upper right corner peeking through.

But I had other plans for this piece.

RED.  Fire Engine RED. With crisp, clean, bright white inside the cabinet.

With the chrome hardware and the gray and white laminate top, it had to be red.  Benjamin Moore’s “Neon Red” to be exact.  I used a gray primer (which saves time when dealing with red, trust me) and was really patient between coats.  It still took four coats to get a finish that I was happy with. This is after two coats.

All of the original hardware (with the exception of a missing knob from the top drawer) was there. So I filled in the holes and drilled a new one in the center.  Voila…problem solved. I love how this piece turned out.  The transformation was huge.  And here it is in my client’s home.  It is was just the pop of color her black and white kitchen needed! She’s adding black and white accessories and it’s going to make such a statement.

Linking up with http://primitiveandproper.blogspot.com

/ http://linda-coastalcharm.blogspot.com/Furniture Feature FridaysFunky Junk's Saturday Nite Special

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Cheryl #

    Gorgeous transformation.

    September 15, 2010
  2. WOW!!! that is such a cool cabinet! i love the hardware, bright color… what a great find! thanks so much for linking to my first party!

    September 15, 2010
  3. Love it. You did a fantastic job. The red color is perfect.

    September 15, 2010
  4. Amy #

    Wow! I’m almost speechless. Love it!

    September 16, 2010
  5. Great job…love the paint job, love the fire engine red. I’m sure your client is thrilled!

    September 16, 2010
  6. I love that you went with the red! Stunning!

    September 17, 2010
  7. Love it, what a neat cabinet, I bet your client is thrilled!
    xx Karen

    September 17, 2010
  8. Carol Samsel #

    I absolutely love it!!! I’m a big fan of red and white and would love to have a piece like this in my kitchen. Great job!!!

    September 17, 2010
  9. LOL! I didn’t know that was what cooties looked like ;-). Thanks for the tip on the gray primer. And that cabinet looks fabulous. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Brittany
    http://www.prettyhandygirl.com

    September 17, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

