Skip to content
Hardware Organizer

When I finish a piece of furniture and it’s time to add hardware, This is where I have to search…the bottomless bit of knobs and pulls.

It is a jumbled, unorganized mess. It’s very frustrating because I have no idea how many knobs or pulls there are or what sizes or finishes they are.  Ziploc baggies are no help.  I need a way to mount all the knobs and pulls in a visually organized way.

Today I came up with a very thrifty (under $10) solution to this problem. I went to Home Depot and purchased a piece of 1/4″ pegboard.  It came pre-cut and is 24″ wide by 48″ high.  It was around $6. Since I just stocked up on hardware at the Hobby Lobby 1/2 price sale, this was a good size! 🙂

Next, I put all the hardware through the holes and grouped them by finish.  Something I didn’t realize about pegboard is that the holes are exactly 1 inch apart.  This is very handy for hanging pulls since most of them are an even number of inches.  It’s also cool because you know how long the pulls are by just counting the holes. 4 holes=4 inches.  This is awesome if you are terrible at estimating like I am. I also bought a pack of 4″ peg hooks for around a dollar.  I put all of the hardware that wouldn’t fit through the holes into ziploc baggies and put binder clips at the top.  Then I slid them onto the peg hooks.

Now I know what I have at a glance.  If I have a custom order and need to show a client hardware choices, I have an organized system.  No more digging through the bottomless pit of hardware.  A thrifty, easy solution. Love it.

Linking up with: Photobucketsouthern hospitalityThe DIY Show OffChic on a Shoestring DecoratingAll Thingz Related

http://twiceremembered.blogspot.com/

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. I just bought some of the hardware with the keys, chandelier, and open on them at Michael’s from their $1 bins, so I was so excited to see that you used them on this board. Thanks for the great idea,
    Melissa=)

    September 21, 2010
  2. Great idea!! Found you from Anything Related..I am for anything that makes my life easier..Thanks for sharing..If your interested I have a Blog Hop going on right now & different one tomorrow…would love to have you share with us..Thanks..Nice to get to know ya new friend!
    Barb

    September 21, 2010
  3. Very clever! I’m going to remember this. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    September 22, 2010
  4. What a clever solution to what I’m sure was a frustrating problem! Ooooh, and what a pretty collection of pulls and knobs you have there! I just love Hobby Lobby’s selection! Thank you for sharing!

    September 22, 2010
  5. I love this idea! Very creative.

    October 12, 2010
  6. Jess #

    I am really enjoying your site….great ideas, wonderful furniture transformations! I am anxious for the garage sale “season” to start again!

    January 21, 2011
  7. Genius! I can’t believe it took me so long to find you.

    January 27, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

