Skip to content
The perfect shade of green

I have a client who brought me an antique table (her great-grandmother’s) to shabby up for her. She brought me a picture frame from her kitchen to use as inspiration for the shade of green that she wanted.I brought the frame to Home Depot to try to find a paint match. As I approached the Martha Stewart display, the “Bay Leaf” paint chip jumped out at me.  The perfect match and a beautiful shade of green! The beauty is, it is one of Martha’s sample pots for $4.99.  So no waiting to get paint mixed…score!

The table was in perfect condition and I wanted the pretty brown to peek through so I didn’t prime it at all.  I used a brush to apply the paint because I didn’t want “perfect coverage” like you get with a roller.  I used what I refer to as the “slap chop” technique.  I lightly sanded and glazed it all over. I love the results!I hope my client does too!

Linking up with:

The DIY Show OffAll Thingz Related http://www.primitiveandproper.blogspot.com

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love it. Just glazed something myself this morning and love the way it came out. You just inspired me to do the same technique you just used on a $5 find at the flea market yesterday. Can’t wait!

    October 4, 2010
  2. Lisa #

    The finished table is beautiful! I love the colour green that you so perfectly matched and the paint technique you used. Your client will be very pleased, I’m sure!
    ~Lisa~

    October 4, 2010
  3. The color is perfect on it! You did a great job ~ don’t you just love those sample pots?!?

    October 4, 2010
  4. beautiful! your client is sure to love it. the finish is perfectly charming! thanks fro joining my party!

    October 5, 2010
  5. sue #

    Looks beautiful; I bet she’s happy!

    Sue
    xo

    October 5, 2010
  6. Love the patina on this little table. What a cute piece!

    October 5, 2010
  7. Vanessa #

    Your style, talent, sweat and tears has made this out dated but ever so loved table back to life and up to date! Thank you thank you over again! Cant wait to find more things for you to help me love more! I cant stop looking at it, the colour is perfect you went above and beyond my expectations!!

    Vanessa

    October 5, 2010
  8. I am going to copy that paint color on an old chair. BTW, I have my grandmother’s table and little seat just like what you showed. It is actually a telephone table. She had it in the hall for the one phone that they had – with a cord, of course. Linda

    October 6, 2010
  9. Kim #

    Love the finish!

    October 6, 2010
  10. love the table and love the idea of the sample pots! did you use a tint in your glaze? i just painted a table green and am thinking of mixing a little brown paint in my glaze. what do you think?

    October 11, 2010
    • Hi Anna, The sample pots are great. I didn’t even use half of the bottle!
      Yes, I used brown tinted glaze. Good luck with your table!

      October 11, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

