Skip to content
The same only prettier

I found this table while thrifting last week. It was already pretty and in great condition. Beautiful wood marked on the bottom “Made in Italy.” I loved the shape, the detailing and the legs….oh what pretty legs!

I taped off the top using paper and frog tape (this stuff is the bomb). Then I used Kilz spray primer on the bottom.  Once dry, I lightly sanded the piece down. Kilz is awesome for coverage but leaves a dusty residue behind. Next, the bottom half got a couple of coats of Rustoleum’s Heirloom White.

It was a shame to cover the beautiful wood on the top so after lightly sanding it, I applied Minwax Pre-Stain Wood Conditioner.  I cannot stress how important this step is to get a beautiful finish.  It prepares the wood for the stain. I’ve skipped this step on pieces before and they never look as good as when I use the conditioner.  After about 15 minutes, it was ready to be stained. I used Minwax’s Dark Walnut stain.  It’s such a rich, dark brown…a gorgeous contrast to the Heirloom White.  Another must-have when staining wood in my opinion is a staining sponge.  I’ve tried foam brushes, regular brushes, and lint-free rags but nothing comes close to the smooth and even application that a staining sponge offers.

Once the stain dried, I used a sanding block to distress the detail work.

Here is the end result…the same table only prettier! Ooo La La!

Linking up with:The DIY Show Off
All Thingz Related http://www.primitiveandproper.blogspot.com

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Very pretty!

    October 5, 2010
  2. oh it is so much prettier! and just out of curiosity is the title a reference to the miranda lambert song? i love her. 🙂 that table has such lovely details and its new finish makes those details show up more. i love that the top is wood, too- a nice contrast to the pretty painted and curvy base.

    October 5, 2010
  3. The details on this piece are so pretty! And like you said, I love the legs. What a great find!

    October 6, 2010
  4. Wow! She is beautiful! Thanks for the tip on the pre stain conditioner. I have had problems in the past with stain, so will try it next time.

    October 6, 2010
  5. Kim #

    Oh my goodness! I love it! Thanks for the staining advice, too. I’m going to try that next time!

    October 6, 2010
  6. Jen #

    Just discovered your blog and I really like it, great stuff!

    October 6, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

