Skip to content
Thrifty Halloween Display

I don’t go crazy decorating for Halloween.  All the black and orange together isn’t really my thing.  This year I did a spooky vignette on the sideboard in our foyer. My daughter Hannah helped me.  Her contribution is the recipe for love potion, which is inside the birdcage. She also created all the potions in the bottles!

Hang on to your hat….here is the recipe!

How to make a love potion by Hannah (age 11)

  1. Take out your cauldron
  2. Boil your water
  3. Take out your magical frog barf
  4. Pour your bat’s blood into the cauldron
  5. Take the heart of a pixie and place it in a bowl
  6. Mix the cow eyeball and the pixie heart into the cauldron
  7. Take a bottle of poison and slowly pour it in
  8. Throw in a fairy wing.
  9. Pluck a slug from the ground and cut it into squares.
  10. Lastly, mix the whole thing and carefully pour it into a crystal vial.

Caution: If you don’t properly mix the poison and the fairy heart, the potion has turned poisonous.

I think I’ll pass on that little concoction. Frog barf??? Really???

Before you start worrying about my daughter I should tell you that she is not disturbed…just highly imaginative and happens to have read the Harry Potter series about five times.

After she wrote the recipe, she colored the paper and burned around the edges (with supervision).

I know the photo is super distracting because of the peek-thru window into the next room. Oh well, you get the idea.  Almost everything in this display (the birdcage, all of the bottles, and the candelabra) was found at thrift stores making this a very thrifty display.

Linking up with:The DIY Show Off


4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Papa Jim #

    Save a little ‘eye of newt’ for my upcoming visit.

    October 16, 2010
    • Of course! That’s what we are having for dinner the first night you are here. You’ll need to save room for dessert…frog barf!

      October 16, 2010
  2. What a fun recipe and love the burnt edges! (And I love peeking through the window and seeing that fabulously organized built-in there with the gorgeous ladder. Lovely!) Thanks for linking up!

    October 16, 2010
  3. Kaysie #

    HaHa – I just stumbled upon your blog (and lovin it) and your little sweeties potion made me laugh! How creative! Thanks for the grin! Happy Halloween!

    October 17, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

