Skip to content
Using photographs in your decorating

I’m picky about the things that I hang on our walls. I want it to mean something. Not just some random image or something mass-produced where everyone you know has the same thing hanging on their wall.  I like things that tell a story, make us happy, are interesting, or all of the above. Usually photographs fit the bill.  I am a shutter bug so I’ve always got plenty to use.

We have a blank, boring wall at the top of the stairs.  I’ve just never gotten around to hanging anything there.  Today I created a mini gallery wall/vignette to fill the space.

When we go on vacation, my husband and I like to wander off the beaten path. We went to Italy this summer and we did all the “touristy” things, but what we really enjoyed was meandering through the residential areas.  In Venice, I snapped dozens of photos of doors, windows and architectural elements that caught my eye.  I gathered several of them to create a small gallery wall at the top of our stairs.

The photos of the photos themselves aren’t very clear so here they are close-up!

I headed to IKEA and got 5 brown Ribba frames. You just can’t beat IKEA for cheap picture frames that don’t look cheap.  With the exception of the hangers on the back.  They are crap-ola.  So I just attached some sawtooth hangers. Trust me, it will make your life much easier if you are hanging several! I popped the photos into the frames, and hung them in an arrangement that I liked.  Sidenote…I suffer from a decorating affliction called symmetryism as you will see.  Everything has to be balanced or it bugs me.

Sorry about the bad photo. Here it is:

I added  some Pottery Barn keys that I’ve had forever.  I topped it off with an iron piece to tie it all together.  The doors, keys, wood and metal in both the photos, the frames and decorative elements all relate to one another so that it’s a cohesive arrangement. Me likey. 🙂

Linking up with:

Chic on a Shoestring DecoratingSYS ThursMake it Yours @ My Backyard Edencalm+breeze+banner+friday.jpgFunky Junk's Saturday Nite SpecialJoin  us Saturdays at tatertotsandjello.com for the weekend wrap    up           party!

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh, I just love this display. I’m a big believer in personal art, too. Ikea frames rock, but you are right, the hardware on the back stinks!
    The keys? A perfect little touch!

    October 15, 2010
  2. Looks good – LOVE those keys too!

    Melissa
    http://www.burstsofcreativity.blogspot.com/

    October 15, 2010
  3. Lovely! What a great look! Thanks for sharing!

    October 16, 2010
  4. Love the mix of frames and keys. Cool display.

    October 16, 2010
  5. Oh this is beautiful…like something out of a magazine!
    The keys add a wonderful and interesting element! I love how this looks!

    Visiting from Funky Junk’s SNS!

    October 16, 2010
  6. That looks great! I love to take photos of doors too and have dozens of them. I may have to work this idea into my house!

    October 16, 2010
  7. Michelle #

    You did a great job, I love it!

    October 16, 2010
  8. I am in the process of setting up a wall of travel photos as well ~ yours will be a great model! Every piece of ‘art’ in our home is a picture of our kids or our kids made it ~ so I understand wanting things you hang to be meaningful!
    I’m visiting from Funky Junk Interiors.
    Cheers!
    Theresa

    October 16, 2010
  9. I really love this arrangement. I agree with having your “art” mean something. I love the look of pictures I see in Ballard, or Pottery Barn, but how does it relate to my family?? This is perfect and I love the iron work and keys. Enjoy your memories in this lovely display!

    October 18, 2010
  10. We love this party link and I wanted to let you know that we are planning on featuring it on our blog. We hope that you get a bunch of new visitors. If there is any chance that you could post about being featured on Remodelaholic with a link back to your post on our site, we would really appreciate it.
    http://www.remodelaholic.com

    November 5, 2010
  11. Oh my, I love all your photographs! Hubby and I were married in Venice so photos of there are always special to me.
    Hugs, Sherry

    November 14, 2010
  12. These are beautiful. On a recent trip to Bamberg, Germany, I too wound up taking tons of photos of doorways and architectural details. They are always so unique!

    November 15, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

