Skip to content
Numbered Bench

Thrifting the other day, I came across this bench. Totally homemade/shop class type of bench.  The stain color reeks of 70’s privacy fences.  But just look at those sweet cottage-y lines…  

and that suh-weet price tag!

I wanted this bench to look very shabby and cottage-y but not blah so I thought numbers would be a nice touch.

I rolled on a coat of creamy white Behr Premium Ultra paint and let it dry.

Then I brushed on some Martha Stewart “Winter’s Day” gray.  I added more coverage on the top part where I planned to put the numbers. The rest got a sloppy jalopy paint job.

Next, I cut out the numbers one thru five with my Cricut machine on vinyl. I used the “Designer’s Calendar” cartridge set on 5 1/2 inches. I peeled the numbers off and stuck them onto the top of the bench. I did not measure…I use a wonderful technique called “eyeballing” it.

Once the numbers were adhered, I painted back over them with the creamy white paint.  Now…if I had this to do all over again, I would have painted across the whole surface with white instead of just around the numbers.  You’ll see why in a minute.

I dried the paint with a hairdryer and then peeled the numbers off. I used a mouse sander with 220 grit and sanded it all over. I figured that sanding would help remove the obvious circles of white around the numbers…it didn’t.

So the next step was to add glaze to tone down the white areas.  I used about an eighth of a cup of Behr glaze with about 4 drops of black acrylic paint.  It turned a very dark gray which is what I wanted.

I glazed it and sanded it and glazed it and sanded it. The white was still obvious. Was I worried enough about it to start over? No way. That’s the beauty of shabby.  The beauty is in the imperfection.

I put in on the tiled area around our garden tub.  It holds baskets of washcloths and soaps, mercury glass candleholders, and flowers. It not only adds charm to the room, but function as well.

Okay, so I lied…it bugged me too much to leave it alone.  The white around the numbers and the stain from the Brady family’s fence showing around the edges was yuck. So I added some Martha Stewart “Heath” randomly around the bench. I used the little brush that comes with the MS sample pots. Then I rubbed it in with a cloth. It’s still not perfect, but it’s better I think.

Linking up with: http://linda-coastalcharm.blogspot.com/ UndertheTableandDreaming Chic on a Shoestring Decorating The DIY Show OffAll Thingz Related

35 Comments Post a comment
  1. Very pretty, gives some added storage as well. I really like the gray

    October 18, 2010
  2. LOVE IT!!! What a great deal you got for only $7.99…thanks for sharing it at my NTT PAR-TAY!!!!

    Blessings,
    Linda

    October 18, 2010
  3. $7.99, what a great find! The treatment you chose for it… suits it perfectly. Like how you have it displayed. Very charming!

    October 18, 2010
  4. I love the imperfections, it looks perfect.

    October 18, 2010
  5. This is perfectly imperfect, and looks really beautiful! I can’t believe the bench was $7.99 — good eye!
    Just saw that you live in Canada, too!

    Jenny
    http://www.simcoestreet.blogspot.com

    October 18, 2010
  6. Sue #

    I think it looks perfectly shabby. I absolutely love how it turned out!

    October 18, 2010
  7. I love your numbered bench, imperfections and all! It looks so beautiful and adds so much charm to the spot you chose for it.

    October 18, 2010
  8. Looks great!!
    *hugs*deb

    October 18, 2010
  9. That bench is incredible and especially with the wall hanging. You did a great job on it.

    October 18, 2010
  10. vanessa #

    Stunning you have an amazing talent! Endless mind!! Now back to work do more! ha

    October 19, 2010
  11. Your bench turned out super! I think it looks great! Whenever I work on a piece of furniture I feel a lot like you do. I know where the imperfections are and they bother me. Other people look at it though and they think it looks great. I guess we’re our worst critic. Don’t let it bother you. If you hadn’t pointed it out I wouldn’t have seen it.

    October 19, 2010
  12. The bench turned out gorgeous!!! I just love that whole vignette you have there!! 🙂

    October 19, 2010
  13. This is gorgeous! I love imperfect pieces and you can’t beat $7.99! Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving your sweet words on my antique crate refinish!

    {Hugs} Jami

    October 19, 2010
  14. I love your numbered bench paired with the wall hanging. . . and for $7.99 it was a steal! The gray was a perfect color choice.

    October 19, 2010
  15. you did a great job to achieve the shabby/old look. i did a numbered terracotta pots project. really makes a big difference with them. add more charm

    October 19, 2010
  16. Thanks everybody for your nice comments! They made my day! 🙂

    October 19, 2010
  17. I really wish I had one of these for my foyer. You really lucked up when you found that. It looks so good!!

    October 19, 2010
  18. Melanieeeeeeee! #

    Thanks so MUCH for including your paint colors. That’s always the hardest part for me. Way to go on the eyballing!!!

    October 19, 2010
  19. Ooh! Love it! I found a bench this weekend and want to give it the Maple & Magnolia treatment. :o) Thanks so much for sharing. New follower visiting from NFT. Happy Thrifting! :o) Larri at Seams Inspired

    October 19, 2010
  20. great deal! I love the finished product. Sometimes we just have to keep tweaking!
    thanks for linking up
    gail

    October 19, 2010
  21. I love your darling little bench! The piece above it is wonderful too.
    Hugs, Sherry

    October 19, 2010
  22. Meg #

    I think this looks great! You can ‘shabby’ with the best of them! 😉 Great job.

    I’m having a fun giveaway on my blog, I’d love it if you joined! alittleknickknack.blogspot.com

    October 19, 2010
  23. Beautiful makeover and beautiful blog!! So happy I stopped by!

    October 19, 2010
  24. You did a terrific job on this bench transformation! We appreciate you stopping by and joining us for Anything Related!

    October 20, 2010
  25. sue #

    Wow! This looks so beautiful!

    Great Job.

    Sue at Beach Bungalow

    October 20, 2010
  26. I think this turned out so pretty and so unique, I love running across a project I’ve never seen before!

    October 20, 2010
  27. Wonderful job, it looks gorgeous and shabby, bravo:))
    Greetings from Europe, Biljana

    October 20, 2010
  28. The bench looks fantastic! Great accessories too!

    http://www.laforcebewithyou.com

    October 20, 2010
  29. that is so cute! i love the colors, numbers, and finish!

    October 21, 2010
  30. What?! $7.99? Awesome and I love the numbers (I actually have a much more rustic but numbered bench too! – down by the barn patio) I love this and it fits perfectly in your space with your beautiful decor. I’m going to include a link in tomorrow’s highlights. If you’d like, please grab an “I’m Featured” button. Thank you so much for linking your creativity and beautiful style to the DIY Project Parade. 🙂

    Roeshel

    October 21, 2010
  31. Looks a million times prettier than the before pic!

    October 21, 2010
  32. Susan #

    Susan,
    I just found your web page and I am delighted! I think you are my long lost thrifting sister! I too am Susan, I too was raised in the deep South,(Charleston, SC) and although I don’t live in Canada, I do live with a Canadian. I love to thrift shop and I pick up road side “orphans” all the time! I see from the price tag on the bench that you shop at Value Village, which is the same thing as Savers here. I have been known to hit 5 Savers in one day! At one point I had 27 chairs and 5 tables in my garage! I paint everything! I recently purchased a new house and am having a ball redoing all kinds of finds! Keep up the fun! Would love to share some of my redos with you!
    Susan Herndon

    October 23, 2010
  33. I just LOVE LOVE LOVE what you have done with this…so glad I found you….x

    October 23, 2010
  34. Amy #

    What a great transformation. You did wonderful.

    Partying with you tonight. Stop by for a quick visit if you have a chance.

    October 26, 2010
  35. Just dropping by to let you know that I linked to this post in a round up today from the Home & Garden channel at Craft Gossip. 🙂 You can see the feature here
    http://homeandgarden.craftgossip.com/9-cool-number-projects/

    If you would like a “featured by” button, you can grab one here!
    http://homeandgarden.craftgossip.com/grab-a-craft-gossip-button/

    January 23, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

