Skip to content
Highway Robbery

I’m waiting for the law to show up at my door any minute now. Why, you ask? Because I’ve committed highway robbery. Seriously.

A couple of weeks ago, I was on kijiji (like Craigslist) looking through the furniture ads when this little piece of heaven jumped out of the computer screen at me.

It was listed for…. wait for it….FIFTY.DOLLARS. You cannot buy junk furniture for fifty dollars, much less a gorgeous antique china cabinet that makes your heart go pitter patter. I immediately sent the seller an e-mail but since their phone number was listed on the ad, I called right away. There’s a lesson in this for all you wheeler-dealers like me out there.  The lady said, “I’ve had a ton of e-mails, but you are the only one that’s called so it’s yours if you want it.” I said I will be right there. Another lesson.  If it’s something you want, go pick it up right away because I’ve had people offer more than list price and steal things out from under me.  Meanies. 🙂

I’ll admit I  had stage fright for a couple of weeks.  You know, where you really like a piece of furniture so much so that you are afraid to paint it? I knew I didn’t want to leave it dark. It needed to be lightened up.

I taped and papered it off carefully. Not necessary, but who likes scraping paint off of glass? Not me.

I finally decided on Sherwin Williams Creamy White. It’s not sexy, but I just wanted a simple color that wasn’t a passing fad and that would coordinate with anything I decided to display in it.

I didn’t distress it. I didn’t glaze it. I didn’t touch the original hardware. I straight-up painted it and I like it. 🙂

It’s perfect for displaying my blue and white pieces. Fun fact for ya…every piece in this cabinet with the exception of one small pitcher came from garage sales and thrift stores. I love that none of it matches, but coordinates beautifully.

A closer look at those gorgeous barley twist legs.

The delicious  seeded glass with the air bubbles.

And the sweet hardware.

Yes, it was totally highway robbery.  Honey, I’m gonna need some bail money!

Linking up with: The DIY Show OffFurniture Feature Fridays

23 Comments Post a comment
  1. wow! what an amazing deal… anyhting with legs like that is automatically pricey, so you got such a bargain and it is sooo pretty now in its fresh white! thanks so much for sharing at my party!

    October 20, 2010
  2. Fantastic find — and result! I wish I knew how to paint furniture like you… Your confidence is amazing.

    October 20, 2010
  3. Loved your “highway robbery” find! I have a few myself!
    Thanks for your site, I am enjoying it.

    October 20, 2010
  4. I love this! I could so relate to the “stage” fright you talk about. You get something you love so much you’re scared to do anything to it but, then you just must jump right in! Great job and thanks for sharing your Craigslist hints.

    October 20, 2010
  5. Ohhh…. the legs… the glass… the hardware! Gorgeous! That piece is gorgeous!! Love it in white, you lucky duck!

    October 21, 2010
  6. Oh my! What a deal and now? Your surgery was a success! lol I love it! I’m doing a furniture feature and including a link to this one too – how can I not? I’m in love. 😉 Thanks so much for sharing your amazing furniture makeovers in the DIY Project Parade.

    October 21, 2010
  7. Beautiful!

    October 21, 2010
  8. Wow-oh-wow! Love it! I won’t send the law your way, cause I thing you saved this cabinet from being incarcerated in the wrong home. 🙂 I have a huge armoire I’d like to paint, but have been afraid to do it. You’ve inspired me to give it a try. I just need to convince DH. Any words of wisdom? Happy Thursday! 🙂 Larri at Seams Inspired

    October 21, 2010
  9. Gorgeous lines and then painted white — ohhh swoon! Those twisted legs just shine now and you never even notices them before the new paint job. Gorgeous!

    October 21, 2010
  10. It’s just gorgeous….Kijiji is my friend too but I have yet to find a bail-money-worthy beauty like this. Thanks for the inspiration. One *Canuck* to another 🙂

    October 21, 2010
  11. Sandy #

    Well lets make us all jealous. That is a fabulous make-over.

    October 21, 2010
  12. The china cabinet looks wonderful. You did a great job!

    October 22, 2010
  13. Amazing!!! I love that you didn’t touch it after you painted it!! Beautiful!

    October 22, 2010
  14. If ever a blog was an add for painting a peice of furniture, your blog is it. Should I dare try painting my china cabinet? (maybe in 2011..)

    October 22, 2010
    • That china cabinet is incredible!!! You have to paint it! I think it would be beautiful in black, lightly distressed with the brown peeking through the distressing OR creamy white.
      Paint it…paint it… 🙂

      October 22, 2010
  15. Oh my gosh, this is amazing — what a steal!
    You did a beautiful job refinishing it and displaying gorgeous china
    Jenny
    http://www.simcoestreet.blogspot.com

    October 22, 2010
  16. That is one beautiful piece! I fell in love with the before and the after just took my breath away. You did and amazing job with it. I would love to have a piece like that in my home.

    October 23, 2010
  17. So lovely. What a great find!

    October 23, 2010
  18. i would have been afraid to paint it too, but i love it way more. so worth it!!!

    October 26, 2010
  19. Lee Ann K #

    OOOOOOOOOO another drool piece.. my kijiji does not offer such gorgeous pieces 😦

    March 28, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Whitewash tutorial « Maple & Magnolia
  2. tres magnifique! | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

