Skip to content
Style File

If TLC ever develops a special “decorating magazine” episode of HOARDERS, I’m in BIG trouble. I mean the need to sit down with Oprah or Dr. Phil kind of trouble. I have a serious addiction to decorating magazines.  I cannot pass by a new issue at the checkout without laying that glossy bit of inspirational goodness on the conveyer belt.

The first item on every “ways to cut your grocery budget” article says the fastest, easiest way is to not buy magazines at the checkout counter. Sorry, I’d rather cut out the milk and bread! 🙂

But this post isn’t about my magazine habit…it’s about what I do once I’m done reading them.  When I read a decorating magazine I dog-ear any pages with ideas and inspiration. Then after I accumulate a big pile, I  go back to the dog-eared pages and  tear/cut out all of the photos that inspire me.  Then I tape them onto the pages of a cheap composition notebook that I call my STYLE FILE.

Then I toss the magazine into the recycling bin.  That’s it.

The beauty of this is 1) it’s a cheap, easy way to organize 2) it cuts down the magazine clutter and 3) when I’m in a creative slump I just flip through my style file to get the creative juices flowing.

Do you have a creative way to organize your clippings? Please share in the comments!

 

Partying over here:
PhotobucketThe DIY Show OffAll Thingz Related

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love this idea! I actually tried the same thing with my scrapbooking magazines a few years ago – I had almost a decade-long collection and soon realized it would take me ages (and as many notebooks!) to gather all of the inspiring ideas. Fast forward a few years (and moves) later and I’ve given away all or recycled of those magazines. But had I gathered the ideas as I went along, it would have been a perfect solution! 🙂

    October 25, 2010
  2. Good idea , but there is something about the glossy magazine I prefer.
    So I stack them or place them in a basket to read on a rainy day!

    October 25, 2010
  3. Lisa #

    Hi … My Name is Lisa and I too, am a Magazine Addict! It’s awful ~ I can never get out of the grocery store without purchasing at least one decorating magazine. No, I have no great tips for organizing as I keep ALL my magazines, scattered about here and there!

    October 25, 2010
  4. I do something very similar — dog-ear the pages, tear them out, recycle the magazine — but then I scan the pics into my computer and put them into folders by topic. (Yes, I’m a little behind and have some magazines sitting around, but the system is in place, and it’s really nice when I can put my hands on an idea quickly!)

    October 25, 2010
  5. I have a very pretty decorated binder (called the Dream File). I take out the whole page, punch 3 holes in the magazine page and put it in the binder under the appropriate room file. Then I pass on the remainer of the magazine to friends who like the to read them. I should do a post on it one day. Thanks for the idea.

    October 25, 2010
  6. mcoffeesnob #

    So i’m not alone!!!

    I sit down with coffee and a Sharpie and circle and write on the pages, tear them out then stick them in clear protective sheets and into a labeled 3 ring binder. They are labeled according to rooms and one for accessories. If I need inspiration for a room, I go there! Accessories, I go there. 🙂 I started scanning them in to save space, but it’s just not as fun as flipping through.

    October 25, 2010
  7. LOL I do the exact same thing! From time to time I go back through my notebook and pull pics off. I know.. gasp… lol but it keeps it fresh. I wish I had YOUR magazine collection though!!! I still want to shed a tear because they don’t make Country Home anymore. 😦 I loved that magazine.

    October 25, 2010
  8. Funny, I did a post about the same thing a few weeks ago. I had to move over 3000 km so I organized mine into folders and divided them into favourites, Country Home, Christmas (all my favourites) and every beautiful inspiring project I had ever seen. You can find it at http://whitecottagechic.blogspot.com/2010/09/my-finds.html
    I’m the same, magazines are my weakness!! As a single mom I have had to pull back on the expenses but some just need to be purchased!! Thanks, it’s nice to know someone else is so obsessed!

    October 26, 2010
  9. Nice to hear I’m not alone!! I posted a few weeks ago about cutting and storing my favourite pictures when I had to move over 3000 km! I kept everything I loved and I like it better, no ads etc., just what I love.

    October 26, 2010
  10. My husband hates clutter, well…I guess we both do, so I decided a few years ago to clip different ideas or recipes, then I scan them into the computer place them in their designated file and send everything else into our recycle bin. So far, so good on the clutter and keeping my ideas handy. 🙂

    October 26, 2010
  11. I love this idea! I am very disorganized in the way of inspiration photos…and need to get my act together like you! Thanks for linking it to my party.

    October 26, 2010
  12. Great idea! 🙂

    October 29, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

