Skip to content
The Thrifting Game

So I have a little game I play with my kids to get them to go into thrift stores with me. My 11 and 12 year old, that is… my 16 year old wouldn’t be caught dead in a thrift store.  Otherwise I’d have to drag them in kicking and screaming. My youngest two children are ultra-competitive…no idea where they get it. 🙂 So the key to get them to do things they don’t want is to turn it into a competition.  That came straight from the Mom Tricks 101 Manual.

The rules are simple…whoever finds the most hideous thing in the thrift store wins. Also, you get bonus points for making the other person burst out laughing.  Oh, the fun we’ve had playing this little game.  Some of the crazy looking tchotchkes and knick knacks are just too funny to keep a straight face.

So yesterday I spotted this total babe.

The table isn’t that bad but the SHADE!!! Oh, that shade! It looks like that table has her easter bonnet on.  Or she gonna catch some rays and needed her floppy sun hat.  It’s like the goose knows the lamp is embarrassed about her silly shade and is trying to console her.

For some reason this struck me as hilarious yesterday in the middle of Goodwill.

So of course I won the game…AND got bonus points for laughing out loud.

Too bad I was alone.

And people thought I was weird.

And wondering why I took a picture of this poor lamp.

The moral of this story? Thrifting is CHEAP ENTERTAINMENT, people! Not only for the great items that you buy, but the hideously tacky ones that you don’t!

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. LOL! Too funny! My kids (12, 10, and 7) love thrifting with me. We’ll have to try your game next time. Right now, I’m shopping for the entire family during our Thrifty Christmas Challenge. It’s definitely been a challenge, but oh-so-fun, too! Happy Tuesday! 🙂

    October 26, 2010
  2. Auntie Mary #

    EXACTLY! I LOVE GOING FOR THE ENTERTAINMENT . I WAS WITH MY SISTER WHO JUST HAD HER HOUSE EXTERMINATED OF MICE AND SHE FOUND AND WANTED TO TAKE HOME THIS BRASS MOUSE WITH A BROKEN OFF TAIL!! I STARTED LOL!!!!!! SHE SAW THE HUMOR
    AND PUT IT BACK . I OFTEN LAUGH AT SOME OF THE GAUDY THINGS THAT CATCH MY EYE. I AM KNOWN TO EVEN BRING HOME SOME OF THEM!!!!!!

    October 26, 2010
  3. I actually love that lampshade. It has such an interesting shape, like a lady’s waist or something! If it was red it would have pride of place, as it would suit my neovictorian decor.I just don’y like the current colour LOL

    Terrific game! I’ll have to share it with my friends.

    October 26, 2010
  4. Shelley Berg #

    I loved your post about the Thrifting game!!!! I like to do that when I shop by myself. Love re-sale shops for many reasons. I could relate to your story about the lamp…and the goose at the base of it. Sometimes you just shake your head and smile. Cheap entertainment!!! I am a rookie to this website and am already loving it!

    October 26, 2010
  5. This was a wonderful post. I really enjoyed a good laugh. I think I will play that game with my sister. Loser buys coffee.

    October 26, 2010
  6. Magazine rack made out of wicker to look like a giant frog with an open mouth……last Saturday. Swear.to.God. I’m with Lady Pamela – next time I’m thrifting with my Sis, loser buys coffee. Of course, it may get snorted out ones nose if we run into that lamp 🙂

    October 26, 2010
  7. The trick for teens is to turn them loose in the clothes – my daughter started shopping thrift stores when she was a young teen (14, 15) and got brand name jeans, tops and even shoes that were the envy of her friends. She still shops thrift stores – and loves it. (she’s 30 now!)

    Love the game idea, will do it with my daughter next time we have a thrift shop day!

    October 26, 2010
  8. I love taking my kids with me to the thrift store! I buy furniture, refurbish it, then put it in my booth to sell. They get to see the process from beginning to end and the best part is they get to see that you can always make something beautiful out of anything!! Now they want to pick out their own stuff to re-do! Thank you for your posts, I love your blog!!

    October 26, 2010
  9. Linda #

    Ok, so I’m thinking we live in the same town. There’s a Thrift Store in the plaza where I work, and I pop in now and then (ok, at least 4 times a week!). Today I SAW THE SAME LAMP!!!!. There’s no way there could be 2 of these in existence. The weirdest part of all? The swan was gone.
    P.S. I work in the 4th shop to the left of said Thrift Shop = the one with the phone box.

    October 28, 2010
  10. Linda #

    Ha Ha!! At $6.99 it was quite the steal. Oh, I was soooo tempted!!
    I’ll be back tomorrow to see if it’s still there…

    October 29, 2010
  11. Linda #

    Walker’s & New!!

    October 29, 2010
  12. Mel #

    this seriously cracked me up, but what a clever idea to get the girls to go with you. I don’t think I can even manage to get mine to go with me, even with this fabulous game 😦

    November 28, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Elkhorn Antiques Market | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

