Skip to content
Happy Accidents

If at first you don’t succeed, try it one more time.  If the second time you don’t succeed, then pitch it and make something else!

That is my new motto.

I consider myself a crafty, creative person.  So WHY oh WHY can’t I make those book wreaths that everybody and their second cousin in blogland has successfully made?  I’ve tried the book wreath project and failed miserably.

Just look at that pitiful wonky thing. 😦

So after scoring some antique sheet music at the best garage sale ever a couple weeks ago, I thought I’d give it another go.  I found this awesome tutorial at Primp. Here is hers…so pretty!

Here’s another one from Miss Mustard Seed…gorge!

And here is mine…it’s giNORmous and the  middle looks terrible and before you go thinking I’m crazy, this photo was taken after I pulled some off for my “other” project.  Which is actually the reason for this whole rambling post!

There was no way I was letting all those pretty vintage sheet music cones go to waste.  I remembered seeing these at Miss Mustard Seed’s:

Which got me thinking…how can I salvage these? So I pulled off some of the cones and put them in bunches of fives and tied them off with some twine. And put them in a pretty bowl that I just picked up today at HomeSense.

I have to say I love it.  It works.  It was a failed project which was actually more like a happy accident.  At least that’s what I’m telling myself. 🙂

So forevermore I will remain wreathless.  I will  just accept the fact that there is something in the wiring in my brain that prohibits me from grasping this project. Probably the same wiring that keeps me from being good at math…or cooking…or having any sense of direction whatsoever.

But that whole can ‘o worms is going to have to wait and be opened another day! 🙂

Here’s to happy accidents!

Partying at: Make it Yours @ My Backyard Eden

book-page-wreaths.png

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. coffeesnob #

    I DO like this very much!

    I am also interested in the finish on the dresser…do you have a previous post on this technique?

    Keep blogging! I look fwd to each post!
    ~m

    October 27, 2010
  2. I read on someone’s blog that she photocopied her antique sheet music and tea stained it…that would save your music sheets…I’m sure you will figure out their “secrets”….since you do such a wonderful job with everything !!! I do love your alternate projects!!!

    October 27, 2010
  3. Well, at least you tried, and…look what you got out of it!!! I love the way the music sheets look in your bowl! I haven’t tried to make the wreath yet, but I have made things that, after it was done, I just sat back and thought “that doesn’t even come close to looking like theirs!” I can’t explain it either—but good for you for making the best of it 🙂

    October 27, 2010
  4. But I think your wreath looked very very good! Maybe you’re too hard on yourself?
    All your things are beautiful !! Just beautiful!

    October 27, 2010
  5. They say the third time’s a charm … but you’ve managed to achieve “charming” after only two attempts!

    October 27, 2010
  6. I have a feeling that would have been a colossal ‘fail’ for me too 🙂 But your wreath really looked ok to me (without the sheets pulled off!) You came up with a great solution, so you should be proud, they look so pretty & sweet tied with twine!

    October 27, 2010
  7. My wreath would have probably looked something like that, too.
    I love the bundle of cones in the end, though. Much better! Plus, it looks like something I could do, too.

    October 28, 2010
  8. Amy #

    I’m right with you on the book wreath. Mine turned out horrible. I’m glad you were able to use the sheet music after all!

    October 28, 2010
  9. Too funny! It’s nice to know other people’s projects don’t always turn out, either! 🙂 I do love what you decided to do with the sheets of music!

    October 29, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

