Skip to content
Whitewash tutorial

You might remember the antique pine benches I found at a garage sale a few weeks ago.

I really like the “rustic”ness of the benches but with our pine harvest table, pine chairs, pine china cabinet and hardwood floors there is a lot of wood going on in the dining room.

I lived with it for a couple of weeks and tried to figure out what to do with them. I decided on a simple whitewash.

The beauty of a whitewash is that it really brings out the nicks and dings in old furniture. Which in my book is a good thing! 🙂

First, I sanded the bench. Nothing crazy, just enough to give the paint something to grab onto.

Next I mixed equal parts paint and water. Make sure to stir it well. I used Behr Cloud White. The consistency should be about the thickness of milk.

Next, dip your brush into the mixture and wipe the excess off. The brush should still be pretty wet. Begin painting along with the grain, pulling the paint down as you go.

This paint dries super fast.  After the first coat dries, you may want to “fill in” areas.

Once the second coat dries, lightly sand the whole piece down to blend and smooth out the paint.

Voila…

I really like the end result. The bench now ties in with the mantel and the white china cabinet.

One last before & after…

BEFORE

AFTER

Love.

Partying with these awesome peeps!

Furniture Feature FridaysMake it Yours @ My Backyard EdenPhotobucket
The DIY Show OffFunky Junk's Saturday Nite SpecialUndertheTableandDreaming

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love to white wash it is my fav very soft and so shabby chic your benches look perfect with you hutch and fireplace!

    October 30, 2010
  2. These benches are FABULOUS! They are just what I have been looking for, but benches like these are not very common here in Australia. I am going to try to make some for our home. I LOVE what you have done with the whitewash. Thank you so much for sharing how to do it. Your benches look beautiful in your dining room. ~ Tina

    October 30, 2010
  3. Oh my gosh, what a FIND!!! And the end result and where you use them is amazing!

    I LOVE benches. Just can’t have enough of them.

    Donna

    October 30, 2010
  4. Oh, thank you! I have been wanting to try a whitewash finish ~you make it look so easy! The benches look great in the dining room!

    October 30, 2010
  5. I absolutely love your dining room — the “new” benches look fantastic, and everything else about it is gorgeous, too. Especially that amazing chandelier!! I hope I have a dining room like this one day 🙂

    Jenny
    http://www.simcoestreet.blogspot.com

    October 30, 2010
  6. Thanks for the tutorial!! I love your dining room! The benches are a wonderful addition! And your chandi is awesome!!

    Polly

    October 30, 2010
  7. Oh my gosh, the whitewashed bench against the wood table and chairs is so perfect. I love the unexpected contrast which breaks up the entire set. Great tutorial; while I’ve never used this technique, I’m anxious to try it. Thanks so much for linking this project up 🙂

    October 30, 2010
  8. The whole room looks fantastic! What great finds and beautiful technique!

    October 30, 2010
  9. Thanks for the tutorial….that’s a great looking after for your dining room design! Cherry Kay

    October 30, 2010
  10. What a beautiful dining room…your benches look great! I loved your tutorial too 🙂

    October 31, 2010
  11. I love the end result and I love your whole dining room!

    October 31, 2010
  12. I really love the change white washing the bench made on the entire room. It really pops, now. Great decision!

    November 2, 2010
  13. Very pretty! It looks lovely in your beautiful dining room.

    Thanks for sharing at My Backyard Eden!

    November 2, 2010
  14. Hi Susan, Thanks so much for linking to the Sunday Showcase Party! I greatly appreciate it! I’ll be featuring this today – stop by and grab a feature button if you like. Hope you are enjoying your week! ~ Stephanie Lynn

    November 3, 2010
  15. They are beautiful! But they were great either way in that room because the room is just stunning!!! Beautiful house!!

    November 3, 2010
  16. I have made some benches like that. I can’t imagine how anyone would put them in a garage sale since they can be used in any room and for many purposes. Thankfully you saved them and improved on them. What part of Canada are you in? It’s a big country, I’m in Northern Ontario.
    Off to check your site for more goodies!

    November 4, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. A Thursday Tutorial - White Washing Furniture | The Row House Nest

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

