Skip to content
old-school turned shabby-cool stools

Say that three times fast!

I love decorating with stools because they fit in any room, are super useful and look great with accessories sitting on top.

In the past week, I’ve found two stools. A lime green one (yikes) at Goodwill for $3.99 and a white one at a garage sale for a dollar!

They were heavy duty but boring. Not to worry…I had a plan!

I started by sanding all the paint off the top with an orbital sander (80 grit).

Next, I painted the legs with Sherwin Williams Sea Salt and stained the top with MinWax Dark Walnut stain. I aged the legs by rubbing dark walnut stain on and then wiping it off.

They looked way better but still needed a little sumpin’ sumpin’.

When in doubt, add numbers!!!

I placed a giant number stencil on the top of the stools and used a small paint brush to paint in the numbers with sea salt.

Better, but it had that “just painted” look. I wanted it to look like the number was already there and had really worn through.

So I sanded it with my mouse sander (220 grit).

I finished it off with MinWax Paste Finishing Wax.

Here’s the end result:

Love.

The stools went from old school to shabby cool just like that. What a quick and easy project!

I can’t wait to keep adding to this collection.

Have a great Monday…I’m off to raid my kids’ Halloween candy! 🙂

Partying here:
UndertheTableandDreaming The DIY Show Off

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love anything with numbers, these look great! I refinished two swivel bar chairs almost the same way…they were a light slate color and I added a number two and a number three to them. I got some “why did you put numbers on those?” questions a lot…but I love them!

    November 1, 2010
  2. You got a great deal on those bar stools and they look great. I love numbers too and did a numbered bar stool a few weeks ago that I stenciled some numbers on. Easy and fun project. But I paid $10.00 at Goodwill for my bar stool!

    November 1, 2010
  3. These are so fun and remind me of Pottery Barn. Great look… those stools are no longer ordinary.

    November 1, 2010
  4. Sue #

    I Love the little bar stools and the finish is wonderful great find and great job!

    November 1, 2010
  5. Great idea and look just love it.

    November 1, 2010
  6. Great idea and look.Now i know what do do with my old stool…..Thanks

    November 1, 2010
  7. So cute!

    November 1, 2010
  8. I LOVE these! Good job!! They are very Pottery Barn like. I am going to have to try out the Sea Salt paint also.
    angie @ http://www.221vision.com

    November 3, 2010
  9. these turned out great!!! i love them!! and the numbers really do finish them off!

    is the sea salt a light blue? or is it a white/blue? awesome color!

    November 3, 2010
  10. From ugly to utterly awesome!!!! Great job! 🙂

    xoxo laurie

    November 8, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

