Skip to content
Shabby Suitcases

I love old suitcases. They are everywhere in our home. Under tables, under coffee tables, stacked on top of each other, you name it!

Found this brown one today at Goodwill for $5.99. In great shape but I wanted to shabby it up a little.

I covered it with old sheet music using Mod Podge. Then I added two fabric rosettes and hung some skeleton keys from twine.

It’s not perfect…the sheet music is wrinkly in a few places but I like it. It adds interest to an otherwise boring spot under a table.

Here’s a blue one I got at Goodwill a few weeks ago.

On this one, I decided to try covering it with fabric. I wrapped the handle in burlap and added two rosettes (can you tell I’m hooked on those things?) and some twine holding the original keys.

I think it adds shabby charm.

Love. ❤

Thanks for stopping by!

Linking up here:
The DIY Show OffPhotobucket“/>Photobucket
Make it Yours @ My Backyard Edengiveawaysfreckled laundry

Polly Want a Crafter

30 Comments Post a comment
  1. Do you store things in them as well?! I live in a very small house, and would love to implement an idea like this as a place to put fabric and yarn stashes! LOVE your site, and your newsletter…

    November 2, 2010
  2. Sue #

    So Shabby cute I am loving this!!!!! I have several suitcases too and wanted to do something to fix them up this is wonderful! I have a very large one I am going to use some fabric to shabby it up too. And I have a book of old sheet music I bought at the flea market now I know what to do with it. One I am going to use some vintage postcards on after I paint it shabby white of course!!

    November 2, 2010
  3. Your suitcases look so good. I really love the one with the sheet music. The little rosettes are such a nice addition too 🙂

    November 2, 2010
  4. Allison #

    You really transformed those suitcases! I love the vintage sheet music one. They’re wonderful! What a great idea. The rosettes are a fun touch.

    November 2, 2010
  5. I love what you did with those suitcases! I especially love the blue one. Great job!

    November 2, 2010
  6. I love this! I’ve never seen it done before and I’m loving it!
    Thanks for linking!

    November 2, 2010
  7. These are scrumptious!! You do realize that you could make a mint selling these, right?! Where would we be without Mod Podge?? -diane

    November 3, 2010
  8. Oh wow!! Both of them are very fabulous! You have done an amazing job! I have one . . . waiting on the to-do list to get done.

    November 4, 2010
  9. I’ve never seen anything like this before, and what a great idea! Your choice of paper and fabric is perfect. And the rosette is adorable! I really appreciate you linking this up. Great job!

    November 4, 2010
  10. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. #

    I love your style! Today is my first visit and I can’t wait to discover more!

    November 4, 2010
  11. Simply love this!! Way to go on revamping it, girly!! It’s beautiful!
    ~Terrell @ Frou Frou Decor~

    November 4, 2010
  12. Love both of these. I’d love to know how you did the fabric one. Did you turn the edges of the fabric under? Your choice of fabric is wonderful.

    November 4, 2010
    • Hi Cindy, I didn’t turn them under. I just used hot glue almost at the fabric edge. If these were getting a lot of wear and tear I would definitely turn them under. Since these are just for “show” I didn’t. 🙂 Hope this helps!

      November 4, 2010
      • Sandi #

        Love these!! So, you could use these for travel purposes and not just decoration, right? I would love to try to do one of the smaller toiletry cases. I just love your inspirations!

        November 6, 2010
  13. The suitcases remind me of the train case my mom had when I was a kid. After she got done using it for toiletries she used it for our meds. It was the perfect height for meds on our trips to Mexico. We usually needed the pink stuff a lot and knew where to go.

    November 4, 2010
  14. great idea to shabby up a room. who would have thought an old suitcase can turn out so gorgeous.

    November 4, 2010
  15. Love the blue suitcase especially! 🙂 I’m so inspired by everything I see on your blog. I featured you on my Thursday Concatenation. I know my bloggy friends are going to love visiting your site as much as I do. Happy Thursday! 🙂 Larri at Seams Inspired

    November 4, 2010
  16. Love these! That blue one stole my heart.
    Brenda

    November 5, 2010
  17. Marilyn Holeman #

    Just visiting from Freckled Laundry. These are TOO cute!

    November 5, 2010
  18. What a cute idea! Great for storage too.
    Hugs, Sherry

    November 6, 2010
  19. So cute! I only find olive green and burnt orange suitcases 😦 I LOVE the blue one, it would fit right in at my house.

    November 7, 2010
  20. WOW! And Double WOW! Fabulous!

    m ^..^

    November 7, 2010
  21. Sheryl #

    You are a genius! I have 4-5 of these cases for storage also. 2 are a yucky pinkish tan color and this would be a wonderful way to cover that up. Thank you so much for sharing!

    November 8, 2010
  22. Oh my gosh. I LOVE these too! These are a freckled favorite this week for sure.

    November 12, 2010
  23. I just came over from Freckled Laundry, and had to tell you how adorable those suitcases are that you re-purpose with the fabric and sheet music. They really come to life the way you style them. Great job.

    November 12, 2010
  24. These are pretty. I have lots of suitcases too. I like the idea of altering the look of a few of them. They are so handy. Nice job!

    November 13, 2010
  25. Linda #

    Your lovely suitcase reminds me of one I made for my first Granddaughter- a place to put all her fairy princess dresses. She still has it’
    It was made with ModPodge too. That stuff lasts & lasts!

    November 15, 2010
  26. Love this! What a wonderful idea.
    ~Heidi

    November 15, 2010
  27. I know I’m a little late here, but this is so adorable that I HAD to comment! What a great way to spruce up a (usually) dull space!

    Aloha,

    Charlie

    November 30, 2010
  28. Hi! Thanks for your comment on my blog. You sure found it fast. Also thanks for the cute idea. I love yours and now I love mine. :o) I love the blogging world.

    February 22, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

