Skip to content
French Blue “Farmhouse Chic” Chair

I’ve been itching to paint something blue.

The inspiration came as I was looking through a French Country decorating book and saw this chippy blue wine rack.

I have a million and one chairs in my garage waiting to be transformed. I thought this one would be a great candidate for a chippy blue makeover.

Brown, basic and boring but sturdy with nice lines.

The first order of business was to dress it up a bit by adding a decorative wood ornament. I found one at Home Depot that fit the size and style that I wanted.

I used some Gorilla Glue to adhere it to the back of the chair and used a clamp to hold it in place until it dried.

To cover the seat, I used a flour sack that I bought at Aberfoyle last weekend.

Once dry, I lightly sanded the chair. I did not prime it because I wanted the brown to be exposed once I sanded.

For this piece I was going for a very rough,chippy, “Farmhouse Chic” look.

To accomplish this, I brushed on a couple of sloppy coats of Martha Stewart’s “Darkening Sky.”

Once dry, I sanded with my mouse sander 220 grit. Β The sanding took off large areas of paint…just what I wanted.

The last step was to glaze it with a brown glaze. I did not seal it because the more it chips, the better I’ll like it.

One last look at the before and after…

Boring Basic Brown to French Blue Farmhouse Chic.

Love.

Partying here:
The DIY Show OffPhotobucket
PhotobucketMake it Yours @ My Backyard Edengiveaways
Furniture Feature FridaysChic on a Shoestring Decoratingfreckled laundry

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh, please come work your magic at my house… I have chairs just waiting for you!

    November 4, 2010
  2. Love it!!

    November 4, 2010
  3. That looks fantastic! You did such a great job. I have four chairs over here that need some love! Come on over.

    November 4, 2010
  4. that color is amazing- i just love it!! that’s one fantabulous chair!

    November 5, 2010
  5. Meg #

    Oooh, I love the decal and I LOVE the seat! Great changes!

    November 5, 2010
  6. KAY #

    I ENJOY GETTING YOUR E-MAILS, TO SEE WHAT YOU ARE UP TO AND DOING NEXT… THANK YOU… A TIME TO RELAX AND DREAM A LITTLE… MAKES ME THINK ABOUT MY STUFF

    THANKS KAY

    November 5, 2010
  7. Love the chairs, love the color & really love what you did with the finish πŸ™‚ Perfection!

    November 5, 2010
  8. GORGEOUS!

    November 5, 2010
  9. Wowie! What a great inspiration picture. I love chippy finishes. The detail you added is such a great addition. And, I really like the color you chose. I especially love the flour sack seat! Fabulous result, my friend! I really appreciate you sharing this at Stories.

    November 5, 2010
  10. wow – fabulous job! I’m so inspired to try something new with one or two of my old chairs now. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    November 5, 2010
  11. I am in love with your chair!! πŸ™‚ Great makeover!!!!

    November 5, 2010
  12. Love, this chair. I mean LOVE love it!

    November 5, 2010
  13. Sue #

    Love this blue chair!! What a great addition the wood applique.

    November 6, 2010
  14. Debra Meyer #

    Thanks for the step by step info!! You are so talented! I love seeing your before and afters! Very inspiring! Thanks!

    November 6, 2010
  15. You have created such a beautiful farmhouse chair! I love the color and the rustic quality you created by sanding it heavily. The burlap seat is the perfect touch!

    November 6, 2010
  16. Love this! Just beautiful!

    November 7, 2010
  17. Carol Randal #

    Absolutely love what you did to the boring old chair –French Farmhouse Chic. I have a stool which would take this treatment!!! Love your blog in little old Christchurch, New Zealand. Kind regards, Carol

    November 11, 2010
  18. Wow. You really pulled off that inspiration technique. The finish and fabric on your chair are g.o.r.g.e.o.u.s. Thank you so much for linking to air your laundry Friday. Hope to see you tonight!

    Hugs,
    Jami

    November 12, 2010
  19. Great job. Looks awesome.

    January 15, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

