Skip to content
More Shabby Luggage

Remember these?

They were so much fun to make, I decided to alter an old train case that I found at a thrift store for $4.99.

I covered it with burlap and added denim fabric, some twill tape, some ribbon, fabric rosettes, some twine and a skeleton key.

And here it is…

I just love making these…I have a feeling this won’t be the last of them!

Whatchu think?

Partying here:
Photobucket“/>Photobucket
Make it Yours @ My Backyard Edengiveaways

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love it! This is so cool!

    November 11, 2010
  2. omgosh Susan you should sell those on Etsy! So cute!

    November 11, 2010
  3. They.are.gorgeous! I have an absolute addiction to old suitcases! I have a couple sitting in my breezeway right now. I picked them up at a farm sale last weekend but these ones are leather and won’t be ‘renovated’.

    I hope you don’t mind if I’m a copycat on a couple of others though. I just made my first rosettes last night but they don’t look nearly as good as yours!

    November 11, 2010
  4. I have 2 train cases sitting in a closet, now I know what to do! Just love it!

    November 11, 2010
  5. Gloria R. #

    Love the idea! I’ve done somewhat the same thing with larger cases. We’re limited space wise here, so my husband and I decided to incorporate your idea and go looking for the travel case size. Buy a small, cheapie shelf unit (decorate accordingly) and try to get enough cases to fill the shelves. These can be decorated to match and labeled as well. This would eliminate a lot of little boxes filled with items you can never find, I hope I can have this done by spring! Thanks for the inspiration!!!

    November 11, 2010
  6. I looove the idea. I think they are such a vintage throwback! Too Cute!

    November 11, 2010
  7. It’s so cool. Those photos can inspiring my wife to beautify old suitcases because my wife is very like to collecting variety of bags include old suitcases. Thank you for sharing…

    November 13, 2010
  8. Marilyn Holeman #

    I agree with two of the comments above–these are too cute, and you SHOULD sell them on etsy! Visiting from The Shabby Chic Cottage. Blessings!

    November 13, 2010
  9. Your suitcases are fabulous. I have two vintage suitcases that I will be working on in the coming year and so I really appreciate the inspiration.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Traci

    December 31, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

