Skip to content
Farmhouse Chic Corkboard

Our kitchen has verrrrry little wall space. It’s all cabinets, windows, a door, and several openings leading to other rooms.

With three very busy kids, the paper clutter that accumulates in the kitchen is astounding.  Mama needs to get organized! For reals.

Today it hit me.  I could make a corkboard (cause buying one is just too easy) 🙂 and hang it on the end of our long cabinet that is closest to the desk area. Poifect!

I went out to the garage and got a long frame that I picked up at a garage sale or thrift store…can’t remember which.

I sprayed it with Kilz primer and then Rustoleum White. I sanded a little bit to shabby it up.

I bought a sheet of corkboard from Home Depot. I measured the inside groove on the back of the frame and then cut the corkboard to size with a serrated bread knife.

I could have framed just the corkboard and it would have looked fine but where’s the fun in that? So I took a flour sack that I got at Aberfoyle and my electric staple gun (do you have one of these…if not, what are you waiting for???? this thing is the bomb) and covered the corkboard.

I stuck the corkboard in the frame, made some rosettes (cause EVERYTHING is cuter with rosettes!)  and hot glued them onto the corner.

Then hung it on the side of the cabinet and VOILA…cuteness and functionality all rolled into one!

Next, I needed some thumbtacks and I had some plain ones but a) that was just too easy 😉 b) where’s the fun in that? and c) they just didn’t fit the vibe that this corkboard has goin’ on.

So I searched through my crafty stash and found some corks that I’d bought at Target…bingo. They were a little too thick so I used the serrated bread knife again and cut them in half. Then I hot glued thumbtacks onto them like so:

How stinkin’ cute are they?

Fabulous Farmhouse Chic Flour Sack  Corkboard….luv it lots.

Partying with these gals:
My Repurposed LifeChic on a Shoestring Decoratingfreckled laundryPhotobucket
giveawaysPhotobucket“/>

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. That look terrific! I love what you did, and seems pretty darn easy!

    November 12, 2010
  2. Susan,
    I have the same kind of panels in my kitchen by the fridge and the other side of the stove…how funny is that! Very cute idea…what did you use to hang the frame without damaging the panel?

    November 12, 2010
  3. Funny, I just completed & posted a cork board and a magnetic board! I cannot find the grain sacks, so I went with burlap. Love your tacks and the rosettes!

    November 12, 2010
  4. I really love it! Fantastic. Thanks for sharing!

    November 12, 2010
  5. This is just TOO cute….and so easy too….xxx

    November 12, 2010
  6. You BOUGHT THE CORKS??? I would have gotten them the original way..LOL!
    I simply love this project…you turned a mundane object into something very unique.

    November 12, 2010
  7. HA! Suzanne…I’m not much of a wine drinker so it would have taken me a looonnnngggg time to collect 6 corks! 😉 Now if Diet Coke had corks I’d be good to go!

    Deb, I added sawtooth hangers to the back of the frame on each side and then wove wire through them to hang. I used those 3m sticky hanger thingys on the cabinet so it wouldn’t damage it.

    November 12, 2010
  8. This is a super cute project and those cork thumbtacks are adorable!

    November 12, 2010
  9. I LOVE this idea!! I have a fabulous vintage shabby, gold frame, no glass & an ackward size. This will be an inexpensive & quick way to display it..love it & the champagne cork pins…you are clever southern gal!!! Thanks…
    vintagesusie

    November 12, 2010
  10. Another fun idea for push pins would be to use buttons, wine corks or other funky craft things you have lying around…
    LOVE your blog/newsletter!

    November 12, 2010
  11. Love it! The burlap sack is just so unique and I really think the little rosettes add a feminine touch. Great job and thanks for sharing your idea!
    http://www.theivycottageblog.blogspot.com
    -Amanda

    November 12, 2010
  12. Amy #

    Great idea. Love how it turned out.

    November 12, 2010
  13. Love. It. You are so smart!

    November 12, 2010
  14. That’s pretty stinkin’ cute, that’s for sure! I have a long wall in my kitchen I never know what to do with. You’ve inspired me!
    Brenda

    November 12, 2010
  15. I LOVE this idea 🙂
    Nice work!

    And steal away, for ideas for your dining room 🙂
    Silver and blue is so fun for Christmas. Just a great change from the norm.
    🙂
    ~Shelley Smith
    houseofsmiths.blogspot.com

    November 12, 2010
  16. This is amazing! You are very talented. I recently bought a coffee sack and couldn’t figure out what to do with it. I will definitely make it into a bulletin board!

    November 15, 2010
  17. Love the cork board, but also noticed the cool #5 stool you have….

    Take care,
    Lisa

    November 17, 2010
  18. How do you manage so many beautiful projects on a daily basis?! I love this and I love having you at air your laundry Friday every week. So talented!

    Hugs,
    Jami

    November 19, 2010
  19. yummy – and I LOVE the stool you have in front too. Beautiful

    January 15, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. What to do with an old pair of jeans! « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

