Skip to content
Don’t “discount” the Dollar Store

Today I stopped into Dollarama to stock up on some Christmas decorating stuff.

Before you turn your nose up thinking they only have plastic tackies, check out my fab finds!

Boxes and boxes of “mercury glass” looking ornaments for a dollar a box.

Silver chargers for my Christmas tablescape for $2 apiece.

Sparkly silver votive candles for the tablescape.

Pretty glittery, rhinestoney butterfly ornaments.

More silvery ornament goodness and mini trees that I will put under cloches.

White glittery branches with berries for some fab arrangements.

I stocked up!!!

Our family tree and family room are very much traditional Christmas colors. We always decorate that tree in a candy theme…the kids love it and I’d never change it.

But my plan for the dining room is to create a white and silver winter wonderland! Very glittery and gorgeous.

I do not like to invest a lot in Christmas decor.  But I like it to look like a million bucks. These things from Dollarama will help me create that look on the cheap!

Do you have any favorite inexpensive holiday decorating tips? Please share!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. I totally stocked up at Dollarama this year too! I’m going to post soon…our tree is blue and silver and white this year. 🙂
    Shannon
    http://www.akadesign.ca

    November 14, 2010
  2. Hi Susan,
    I love the Dollar Store! I have BEAUTIFUL decorations that I purchased over the year from Goodwill, alot of people may turn there noses up but the Goodwill’s here in Burlington and Greensboro, NC. have wonderful finds!
    Melinda G. Burke

    November 14, 2010
  3. I love the dollar store and Big Lots is one of my favorites for inexpensive Christmas decorations. It happens to be next door to Goodwill (I’m with ya Melinda, I love Goodwill!)and a Thrift Store, so I always score between the three of those shops! I’ve decided to decorate in a winter wonderland theme too this year. I plan to use white, silver, glass and mirrored pieces. I just finished spray painting some branches and twigs that I snagged from the brush pile. I plan to bundle them with a pretty ribbon or maybe a strip of burlap (it all depends on how the room falls together)and placing them somewhere appropriate. I’ll be watching to see how yours turns out. I love your posts!! So inspiring!

    November 14, 2010
  4. I decorate my home in all white for the holidays. Any holiday. Last year my best dollar store project was taking the green bottle brush trees, soaking them in bleach till the colour was gone then glueing pearls and glitter on them. I had them all over the house. I just love getting your posts into my email inbox in the morning. Really gets my day started on the right foot.

    November 15, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

