Skip to content
Making your own monogrammed barware

When my mom came to visit, she brought me a stack of Southern Living magazines. Last night I read through all of them in one sitting and came across this wonderful idea.

I love monogrammed glassware…it’s just so, well personal! Plus, I’m from the south where we monogram EVERYTHING!

Take a look at Pottery Barn’s monogrammed barware:

It sure is purdy…but it’s $64 for 4! I’m no math whiz, but I believe that’s 16 buckaroos PER GLASS! WHAAA????

And here’s one from Williams Sonoma:

We actually have a set of these that I LOVE from my sweet sis-in-law and bro-in-law.

But I just had to try the DIY version out and see if it was as easy as the article made it sound!

So today I went to Michaels and bought some etching cream. Should’ve had a coupon…this stuff is expensive! Fortunately, a little bottle will last forty forevers.

Then I hit Goodwill to get some glassware real cheap-like!   😉

Last week on the Nate Berkus show, he said that thrift stores are a great place to find nice glasses and crystal stemware for a steal. He said it’s the area that most people don’t give a second look. Until today, I generally don’t give it a second glance.  But today I found some really pretty highballs from France for 49 cents a glass. Score!

I brought them home and got to work.

Here is what you need to make monogrammed barware/glassware: glasses, etching cream, a paintbrush and a stencil. That’s it!

First step…make a template.  I used my Cricut machine and some vinyl to make a template. Because we have the Williams Sonoma set with H’s, I thought I’d try the numbered ones from SL.

Thrifty tip:  for cheap vinyl to use as a template for the cricut machine, I buy cheap ugly contact paper.  It’s much cheaper and you get a lot more! It’s a shame to use the cricut vinyl when you are just going to throw it away.

Back to our regularly scheduled program 🙂

Next step…stick the template onto the glass.

Next step…using the paintbrush, add some etching cream to the image.

Wait 60 seconds.  Last step is to rinse it under running water until all the goop is gone.

That’s it.  Check it out!

And here’s the whole set:

Imagine all the creative options for this! Holiday shapes, initals, names, stylish designs, etc. They would make a great hostess gift, teacher gift or birthday gift for a friend.

Easy, thrifty and stylish…a winning combination.

Editing to add:  I washed these in the dishwasher and they look great!

 http://linda-coastalcharm.blogspot.com/a Photobucket
Chic on a Shoestring DecoratingPhotobucket
My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia

23 Comments Post a comment
  1. Though I am a Northerner, I am a sucker for all things monogrammed. Thanks for the tut, I will certainly give it a try!

    November 15, 2010
  2. Sue #

    Well I am a reg thrift shopper love to check in on goodwill and always at the bargain stores around town. I Love this idea and you showed it so great I have always wanted to try this now I think I will give it a shot thanks for sharing.

    November 15, 2010
  3. Susan, As usual so…..creative. I have bought some of the best china and glassware at Goodwill. I will have to try this!

    November 15, 2010
  4. {aka} | design #

    That is excellent!! It would make a very nice gift. Thanks for the idea.
    Shannon
    http://www.akadesign.ca

    November 15, 2010
  5. Now I cannot wait to go get me some glasses to monogram!
    Thanks for the great idea!

    November 15, 2010
  6. Love this idea & I would love to try it for the holidays…I agree, what a wonderful, personal gift!!!
    Smiles,
    Susie

    November 15, 2010
  7. Etching a pretty design on a mirror also makes for a pricey-looking thrifty gift.

    November 15, 2010
  8. How cool is that!!!!…xx

    November 15, 2010
  9. Linda #

    Be certain the glasses are not Corning. The Etching will not work on that or Pyrex.
    I bought some very clear bar mugs – was Corning . I tried to make my hubby’s initials . All it made was a mess.

    November 15, 2010
  10. OH my gosh this is adorable! What a great gift too!

    November 15, 2010
  11. Oooh! My brother and s-i-l are SO getting a set of these beauties for Christmas! What a great idea! How did I miss that in my Southern Living?

    November 15, 2010
  12. karen #

    Great idea! For any teachers out there, I do something similar for my parent Christmas presents. I buy a clear plate (usually new so it’s not scratched), then the students put their last initial in the middle and a Christmas design around the edge. Then we etch. They love them! And you’re right, the etching cream goes a LONG way so buy the smallest amount possible.

    November 15, 2010
  13. Those are fabulous! I’m going to have to do this for Christmas gifts. I love the thought of giving these as teachers gifts. Fun Fun Fun – I’m so inspired.

    November 16, 2010
  14. What a great idea! I’m going to try them on some glassware. Thanks for sharing.

    November 17, 2010
  15. Kim #

    Such a great look and for so much less than PB. Thanks for sharing this at my party!

    November 17, 2010
  16. I’ve always wondered how to do this. Thanks for the tutorial!

    November 17, 2010
  17. Mrs H in WV #

    I may try this technique on the sidelight windows at my front door entrance. I wonder how to rinse it off without being able to use a sink? Do you think a spray bottle & paper towel would be sufficient to get the creme off? Thanks for the tutorial!!

    November 17, 2010
    • Hi Mrs H, Hmmmm. I don’t know if I’d be brave enough to try this on sidelights. This stuff is permanent which means no room for error. Just my 2 cents!

      November 17, 2010
  18. Great idea!! Thanks so much for the inspiration!! 🙂

    November 17, 2010
  19. Thanks for the tutorial! I’ve been itching to etch and now with Christmas approaching, I have a great excuse to etch my little heart out as I make some handmade gifts. And thanks too for the tip on using contact paper for templates. My MIL has a Cricut and has offered to let me use it for etching and stenciling, so rather than using her expensive vinyl, I’ll get my own stash of the cheap stuff. You’re just full of fabulous, frugal ideas! 🙂

    November 17, 2010
  20. That is a great idea, I’m going to remember it 🙂

    November 18, 2010
  21. AWESOME!

    November 19, 2010
  22. This is so great! They turned out beautifully!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    xoxo
    Karena
    Art by Karena

    November 24, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

