Skip to content
Rekindling my love for red

Red has always been one of my go-to decorating colors. Over the summer though, I was using more and more blues, tans and whites. Now that Christmas is nearing it seems that everything I’m drawn to is red!

I picked up this chest at Sally Ann’s Boutique (Salvation Army) a couple of weeks ago for 39 bucks. Higher than I usually pay for a dresser but it was in good shape with nice, solid drawers. I liked the size as well and immediately had a spot in mind for it.

Fast forward to today. I removed the white BOBO hardware and sanded and primed. The lady at Home Depot looked up the right color primer for the Martha Stewart “Barn Red” paint that I chose.  Y’all ready for this? BUBBLE GUM PINK! I swear, it even smelled like cherry bubblegum. I’ve primed red with gray primer before, but never pink.  I was a little afraid! 🙂

I shouldn’t have been, though.  After 2 coats of primer and 5, yes FIVE coats of Barn Red she was so pretty.  A little too “done” for my taste though.  So I wiped it down with MinWax Dark Walnut stain, let it sit for 15 minutes and then wiped and sanded (220 grit) the whole piece down.  The more I sanded, the better I liked it.  I really went to town on this thing.  I  love the way it chipped….(probably because of the seven coats that still haven’t cured yet).  Just the beat up, rustic loveliness I was going for.  I happily replaced the white BOBO hardware with these DE-LISH iron knobs from Hobby Lobby. Done.

Oh red, I promise to never stray again.  I love you so. 🙂

Hanging with these homegirls:
Chic on a Shoestring Decorating
Furniture Feature FridaysgiveawaysCatch As Catch CanPhotobucket
PhotobucketFunky Junk's Saturday Nite Special

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. Looks lovely! I just redid a desk in a similar red! So much fun! 🙂 Visiting from Remodelholic!

    November 20, 2010
  2. It is gorgeous and it distressed so well, too! I am drooling over your lamp, though!!! Did you make it?!?

    November 20, 2010
  3. Oh how I love that RED!!

    November 20, 2010
  4. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. #

    The red was a bold color choice and it really paid off!
    Looks amazing!

    November 20, 2010
  5. Allison #

    I love your red chest! That is the perfect red. I have to say I would never have known to use pink primer. You did a beautiful job. I also love your wood tray with all of your jars with the candles and touch of greenery. What a fun idea and so festive.

    November 20, 2010
  6. Joni #

    Hi, love your new red chest! Red is my favorite color, I need a chest like that! Love the mason jars too — I am going to do something like that this Christmas. Thanks for the inspiration. Joni

    November 20, 2010
  7. Its just Beautiful i love the red great job!!!

    November 20, 2010
  8. Sue #

    Oh just beautiful I love the color! You did an amazing job I will have to try this I have always been scared to go with such a bold color but this it wonderful!

    November 20, 2010
  9. This is the perfect red! I just LOVE this piece! I love the handles too! I wish Canada had this amazing “Hobby Lobby” store that I get teased with in posts just like your. Amazing, beautiful things..

    November 20, 2010
    • Hi RO, I’m in Canada too. There is one in Buffalo if you are close to there. 🙂

      November 20, 2010
  10. Looooooooooooooove!!! Such a great job!

    November 21, 2010
  11. 7 coats! whoa! I love the way it turned out. great job.
    I got some pink primer (oops) it worked great under my red paint (oops)
    thanks for linking up and linking back
    gail

    November 21, 2010
  12. Ialleta Coryea #

    I love the way the chest turned out!! It’s really stunning!! I wish I had one for my house!!! Thanks

    November 21, 2010
  13. I love red too! I just wish it didn’t take soooo many coats of red. She makes us work for it, huh? The chest turned out looking fabulous!

    November 21, 2010
  14. What a gorgeous dresser! The beadboard in my kitchen is painted a barn red similar to that and it’s such a wonderful, warm color. And I love how the the wooden box with glowing candles and greenery further compliments the red. Very festive!

    November 21, 2010
  15. Barn red is the perfect red, I think. How did you chip away to the wood without the bubble gum pink showing?

    November 21, 2010
    • Hi Christa, I think because the layers of paint were all so fresh, it was very easy to get down to the wood. It sort of just peeled right off as I sanded. Easy as pie!

      November 21, 2010
  16. red primer is always scary…. but the outcome was phenomenal!

    November 24, 2010
  17. I am not a fan of red but this dresser is great in red. Great job.

    November 24, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

