Skip to content
Change is good

I am a change junkie. This especially applies to decorating. Even pieces you love can get stale and tired.

For example, several years ago we purchased several pieces from the Broyhill Yorkshire Market collection.

It’s warm and pine and comfy, casual.  It’s completely us. I still love all the pieces as much today as when we purchased them several years ago.

This sofa table is one of the pieces.

While I still loved this sofa table (especially those barley twist legs) it was ready for a facelift. We were tired of the pine color…especially since it’s placed behind our khaki sofa.

So over the weekend, I gave her a little paint job. Then I distressed the edges so that the pine would peek through.

Before I show you the “after” here’s someone that wouldn’t get out of the way so I could take the photo of the sofa table. She wanted her “close up.”

My little shadow, Riley.

So here’s the after of the sofa table.

I’m really happy with it.  It looks like a new, fresh piece of furniture.

Before & after:

Repeat after me…change is good.

Have a great Monday, everyone.

Linking up here:

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’m lovin’ change!

    November 22, 2010
  2. Wow, I would have been so afraid to try that, but it looks fantastic!

    November 22, 2010
  3. Sue #

    Change is good and this is a great Change!!

    November 22, 2010
  4. I love what you did with the table. And I especially love the dog!

    November 22, 2010
  5. Beautiful job! That table is so pretty with all the details on it!

    November 23, 2010
  6. I love the transformation! This already had great bones and the black paint!

    Nancy

    November 23, 2010
    • I meant to say that it had great bones and I love the black paint. I got sidetracked with one of my kids asking to get on the computer and realized I only left a partial comment! Sorry!

      November 23, 2010
  7. Karen Millburg #

    oh how I love your table painted black! You made my morning!! I was just about to do the same with our buffet, but I need to know if you had to sand your table completely down? ours is painted, then varnished over, but believe there is a new paint (adhesive) that I wont have to sand first. ugh, no time for that. wish I could get more details from you?? if so, send my way…Thanks again and simply love seeing your blog and cking out all your decor, work etc. SO NICE!! and yes, what a handsome dog too 🙂

    November 23, 2010
  8. Joy #

    I love it…I was wondering what kind of paint do you use when you paint your pieces? They look so smooth…

    November 23, 2010
    • Hi Joy & Karen, On this piece I used Para brand Melamine low lustre in black right off the shelf. I get it from our Benjamin Moore store. It is oil based and goes on like a dream. You don’t have to sand or prime. The coverage is fantastic and it wears so much better on furniture than latex paint. Just be sure to paint in a well-ventilated area. Hope this helps and feel free to ask any other questions! Susan

      November 23, 2010
  9. gorgeous! I did the same thing with an old broyhill trunk and it was instant happy

    November 23, 2010
  10. Cori #

    I have a pine piece, a side table, that I’d like to paint like that. What is your process? Do you use spray paint or brush? Do you apply a stain/antiquing after. How do you finish (poly/wax)? Please help. I love your stuff; I just wish that I had the finds you have. I guess California is not the best place for antiques/vintage things.

    November 23, 2010
    • Hi Cori, I always use a 4 inch roller. I only use a brush for the trim/detail that the roller won’t reach. The black I used is an oil based paint. See my reply below for details. I use latex paint as well. I haven’t had good luck with poly. Sometimes I finish with MinWax paste wax and sometimes I leave it bare if I don’t mind it getting scuffed. (Usually I like it better, the more beat up it gets). Hope this helps. Feel free to email me with other questions. Susan

      November 23, 2010
  11. yes, change is good! it’s nice to be able to take something you already have and fall in love with it again.

    November 24, 2010
  12. It looks soooo good! You are right~ the table was already super pretty and just needed to be updated! Love it! 🙂

    November 24, 2010
  13. Yes, change is good and I change a lot of things. This is no exception. It has great lines and looks so good! The only thing I have against black painted furniture…and I have a lot of it…it shows dust F A S T! Terry

    November 25, 2010
  14. Meg #

    Wow, what a difference a little paint can make! Change IS good. Love it!
    I would love for you to share this at my link party and to join my giveaway going on now! alittleknickknack.blogspot.com. Have a wonderful weekend!

    November 28, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

