Skip to content
Advent Calendar

Have you seen the beautiful advent calendar in the Pottery Barn catalog?

So pretty. So expensive. So I made my own.

I used canvas and the same process that I used on the dining room chair backs. Then I cut out three inch squares of ticking stripe fabric with pinking shears. Next I stamped the numbers with acrylic stamps and Stazon ink (works great on fabric). Then hot glued the ticking striped pockets onto the canvas. That’s it.

Not as fab as the PB version but…considering it was a hundred dollars cheaper, I’m okay with that!

Linking here: http://linda-coastalcharm.blogspot.com/My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia Photobucket
freckled laundryThe DIY Show Off
giveaways

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Vanessa #

    BRILLIANT!!! And way more charming then the Pottery Barn pulled out of last years stock version!!! Yours is amazing! You need a team of elves to make more and sell them … I’ll take one! haha

    November 24, 2010
  2. Bland Reddy #

    Your version has much more visual interest and tons more charm! I’ll take the 2nd one off of the assembly line!

    November 24, 2010
  3. WOW!! I think yours is so much more fabulous than the PB one, for many reasons. It is fantastic!! ~ Tina x

    November 24, 2010
  4. It’s beautiful. I keep thinking I should make an advent calendar but I think I have officially run out of time for this year (too much else to get done !)

    There’s always next year right?

    Ok its on the list for 2011 then.

    November 24, 2010
  5. Very cute idea. Those would be a great gift for grandchildren.
    Debbie

    November 24, 2010
  6. I just love how yours turned out…thanks for sharing it at NTT!

    Blessings,
    Linda

    I’m having a CHRISTMAS OPEN HOUSE linky party on 12/9…would love for you to join in on the FUN!!!

    November 26, 2010
  7. Love this! Trying to decide what advent calendar project to tackle! Yours is awesome!

    Blessings,
    Holly
    http://hallelujahsbyholly.blogspot.com

    November 26, 2010
  8. Hi Susan,

    Just wanted to share that your calendar inspired me to make my own over the weekend. Did you happen to find your ticking at Walmart, too? I saw it at least a month ago, but couldn’t justify buying any yardage since I had no projects in mind for it. Once I saw your calendar, though, that’s all I needed to promptly pay a visit Wally World. 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration and for all your craftiness in general!

    Happy Holidays,
    Erin

    See the calendar at: http://carolinacountryliving.blogspot.com/2010/12/no-sew-fabric-advent-calendar.html

    December 1, 2010
  9. Freckled favorite this week! Party is back on after a holiday break!

    Hugs,
    Jami

    December 3, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

