Skip to content
family room mantel

Our family room mantel is a challenge to decorate. It’s super narrow and surrounded by large windows. Since the width is next to nothing, I have to make the most of the height to create any kind of visual impact.
For our Christmas mantel, I started at the center with a fleur de lis stand wreath hanger. These things are the best invention evah. I hung a fresh wreath from it. Then laid some fresh greenery swags along the mantel.

On each side of the wreath are two chippy bark reindeer. I love their attitude. They add a touch of rustic whimsy.

Flanking the ends of the mantel are these awesome industrial looking glass jars that I found at (where else?) HomeSense.

I filled the jars with fresh greenery that I cut off of a backyard pine tree. Then I added my version of the Pottery Barn sheet music candles. For their version, you fork over $29 each for two 8″ pillars.

For my version, you take two candles you already have and wrap some sheet music around them and secure it with scotch tape on the back for free.

Behind the jars are some garage sale shutters that I spray painted Krylon’s Cherry Red (perfect Christmas red). I’ve been saving them for the right project and this was it. I love the way they “bookend” the mantel and add the perfect finishing touch.

Put it all together and there ya go. Easy as pie holiday mantel.

There’s a party over heyuh…The DIY Show Off
My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia  http://linda-coastalcharm.blogspot.com/ Make it Yours @ My Backyard Edengiveaways

The Lettered Cottage
5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Love your mantel! The red shutters are the perfect backdrop to your lovely decorations. Great tip on the sheet music candles.

    November 24, 2010
  2. This mantel that you put together is beautiful. Nice job.

    November 24, 2010
  3. Very pretty! You are very creative! I love to make versions of something I like without the price tag that comes with it. Good Job

    November 24, 2010
  4. I love the colors you used on your mantle. I’m using similar colors and I painted some big shutters red to display our Christmas cards on. Great minds think alike ;-).

    Brittany
    http://www.prettyhandygirl.com

    November 25, 2010
  5. So very very pretty!
    Thanks for linking!
    XO
    Kristin

    November 27, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

