Skip to content
thrifty gifty idea

A couple of weeks ago I saw this map magnet tutorial on Let Birdz Fly.

Aren’t they awesome???

It got me thinking…we’ve lived in 7 cities throughout the U.S. and 2 in Canada.  Wouldn’t it be cool to make one for each city we’ve lived in?

So I bought a road atlas at Goodwill for 99 cents.

And some decorative marbles from Michaels for a couple bucks. (The kind in the floral dept. that are flat on one side)

Then I got out Mod Podge, a foam brush, thumbtacks (I didn’t need magnets so I modified it), and the hot glue gun.


To make these: put some Mod Podge on the flat side of your glass marble. Stick it onto the map or other paper. Let it dry. Cut around the marble. Put some hot glue on the back of the paper. Put the flat part of the thumbtack onto the dab of hot glue. Done.


It is so simple and fun. And kind of addictive.

Then my wheels got turning…

What about sheet music?

and pages from books…

and cute scrapbook paper…

Ooooooo…the possibilities are endless.

Wouldn’t these make cute gifts? You could make or buy a bulletin board and add custom pushpins for that personal touch.

How about making monogrammed pushpins by printing a monogram on colored paper?

Or printing photos of your children/pets in thumbnail sizes. Wouldn’t grandparents love that?

These are so simple that even small kids could get in on the action. Except for the hot glue part.

If you have any other ideas feel free to share in the comments!

Happy Black Friday!






Party People:

Chic on a Shoestring DecoratingThe DIY Show Off

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. I was just hanging a bulletin/white board and wondering what magnets and stick pins to use. What a great idea!
    Shannon
    http://www.akadesign.ca

    November 26, 2010
  2. whoa we are soooo on the same page! i just made these with sheet music for my kids to give to their teachers! so funny! i love the map idea!

    November 26, 2010
  3. I love this idea. I can think of so many pictures to use. But I love the map idea. Thanks so much for sharing.

    November 27, 2010
  4. HI:)
    I’m here for the first time and I really like your blog. You have great ideas and beautiful scenery. Very interesting blog.

    Have a great weekend:)
    Greetings from Poland

    Kate

    November 27, 2010
  5. I love these! 😀 How adorably cute! 😀 I love those little pebbles, but am not always sure what to do with them. I’ll definitely be making some of these soon. 🙂 I have some flat sheet magnet that i can cut and stick on the back as well. It would also be nice to make these goodies, and then glue them to stuff, eg to decorate a plant pot as a gift.

    NaturallyMeCreations.blogspot.com

    November 27, 2010
  6. Manda #

    I’m new to your blog/ the blogging community!! I love this idea I’m getting ready to start redecorating my spare bedroom and make it more of my craft room and these are perfect for my idea bulletin board!!! Thanks so much for sharing!!!

    November 28, 2010
  7. The music notes are so cute. I love making these, too. I use GemTac (a jewelry glue that dries very clear) – it is non-toxic and might be a little less hazardous than hot glue.

    November 29, 2010
  8. Very cool idea! Love this! So many different ways to use them! Thanks for sharing!

    November 29, 2010
  9. ashamelessagitator #

    I am re-discovering my love of crafts and will for sure add this to my projects list which is ever expanding!

    November 30, 2010
  10. Deb #

    These are adorable. I can see so many possibilities. I can see that clear glass pebbles will now be included in my next shopping trip! Thanks for sharing.

    December 5, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Life’s too short to look at cork… « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

