Skip to content
marvelously mismatched

One of my favorite pieces of furniture in our home is this chest that I purchased on kijiji for 40 dollars.

It’s old and pine and I really love the size and shape of it. I love the beat-up top.

When I bought it, this is what it looked like. Purple.

I don’t “do” purple. Ever.

So I painted it creamy white and glazed it. Ahhh…much better.

A few weeks ago I purchased this hutch for 20 dollars at a garage sale.

It was actually a very pretty green but it wouldn’t work in our house.  So I painted it creamy white and glazed it and stuck it on top of my favorite chest just to see…

I like it uh lot.

I like it cause it doesn’t “go” together, yet it “goes” together! 😉

Note to self, nighttime photography indoors=bad.  It really looks prettier in person, promise.

$60 for a piece of furniture with tons of storage that I love…priceless!

Linkies:A Little Knick KnackChic on a Shoestring DecoratingFunky Junk's Saturday Nite Special

UndertheTableandDreaming The DIY Show Off

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. oh it all looks gorgeous together- good call! loving the creamy white, too… purple, eh, not so much. 😉
    nice job!

    November 28, 2010
  2. It looks great together. I just love it when pieces like this work together and you get more storage. I live in an old farmhouse and there is no storage. O I get extremly excited if I find pieces for extra storage.

    November 28, 2010
  3. Now that’s what I am talking about…..fabulous!!! Now I am just wishing we didn’t have more than a foot of snow and my hubby would get out there and build the shed for the bikes that has been languishing in my garage for more than a year so I can have an emptier garage for stuff like this…lol…xxx

    November 28, 2010
  4. Those pieces look fabulous together! I love it 🙂

    November 28, 2010
  5. Oh yes… they do go together even though they don’t go together! LOL! I really like how it turned out too with the painting and how you left the top and shelves natural wood color! Very nice!

    Tania

    November 29, 2010
  6. Meg #

    OH, it was meant to be! What a perfect match! I love the white with the wood tones…what a wonderful re-do!

    November 29, 2010
  7. Vanessa #

    OMG!! When I looking at the finished picture its like a choir went off OOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHH….!!! or Christmas Vacation when all the lights worked!! Just amazing!!

    November 29, 2010
  8. gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!! Love that you saw that they would go together- not sure I would have. Love your blog!

    November 29, 2010
  9. These pieces look fantastic together. The way you have painted them both, you have created a marriage made in heaven! Brilliant.

    December 2, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. tres magnifique! | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

