Skip to content
Antique Cabinet

It’s been a painting frenzy at my house the past couple days. I’ve finished a lot of pieces and I’m really excited about this one.

The antique cabinet below was a kijiji find a few months ago. One of my bestest customers saw it on my blog and had to have it!

Here’s the before:

And here’s the after:

For some reason the blue in the photos is showing up a little more blue than it actually is.

The color is a pretty Pottery Barn soft blue/grey shade called Santorini Blue.

The outer cabinet and mullion color is Fledgling by Martha Stewart.

The wooden knob was very dated, so I added a pretty drop pull to complete the look.

I love how paint can totally transform a piece of furniture.

This one has gone from drab to FAB!

Hope you like it, Kim!

Linking up with these parties:  http://linda-coastalcharm.blogspot.com/The DIY Show Off
Photobucket

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beautiful! I came here from Between Naps On the Porch.

    November 30, 2010
  2. this is so pretty! i have a thing for white cabinets with blue inside though… i have a cabinet painted similarly and i just love it!

    November 30, 2010
  3. Kim #

    It’s beautiful!!!! My brown and white dishes are going to look amazing in this cabinet!!!! Thank you Susan 🙂

    November 30, 2010
  4. It is night and day…I adore the new pull you put on. What is this kijiji I keep on hearing about?

    Take care,
    Lisa

    November 30, 2010
  5. I found your blog through The Shabby Nest. You have a lovely blog and your cabinet redo is gorgeous!

    November 30, 2010
  6. Lovely! I’ll be working on an antique hutch similar to this for a friend….I hope mine turns out as beautiful as yours 🙂

    November 30, 2010
  7. As always, luv your work!!! I wonder though since I’ve had some trouble with mine…how MUCH do you sand before you paint on a piece like this one? Do you just add a little texture, or sand to the bare wood (UGH-please say no). Share your secrets? Feel free to send me to a previous post if you have it already. 🙂

    November 30, 2010
  8. Just love it!
    Cheers!
    Rita @MAY DAYS

    November 30, 2010
  9. I Love this piece. Great eye! Terry

    November 30, 2010
  10. I would love to find one of these pretty cabinets! You did a wonderful job!

    November 30, 2010
  11. Absolutely beautiful….great job………Greg

    December 1, 2010
  12. I love this piece! The colors are perfect.

    December 1, 2010
  13. Chris #

    Wow, that came out so wonderful! How many coats of paint did you need to cover the dark wood? I’m in the middle of painting a very dark cabinet with a cream colored paint. I’m a coat of primer and two coats of paint in and it still needs more.

    December 1, 2010
    • Hi Chris,
      This cabinet took 2 coats of primer and 2 coats of paint. What kind of primer did you use?

      December 1, 2010
      • Chris #

        I used Kilz. I should have done two coats of primer! Thank you.

        December 1, 2010
      • Yep, that’s a lesson I’ve learned the hard way. The better you cover with primer, the less coats you’ll need! 🙂

        December 1, 2010
  14. It is gorgeous!! Love the color combination!

    December 1, 2010
  15. Mel #

    Fantastical change! It looks so fresh and new now.

    Do you paint by hand or do you use a sprayer? Your finishes are so smooth.

    December 1, 2010
    • Hi Mel, Thanks! I paint by hand and always use a roller, with a brush for details/trimwork. I just started using a new roller called Red Feather. It doesn’t leave any marks or lines. It’s fantastic. Can’t remember the brand, I’ll get back to you.

      December 1, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. tres magnifique! | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

