Skip to content
Bedroom Makeover

Our bedroom makeover is finished and I’m really happy with the results.

Here is our bedroom before.

And here it is after:

After having black bedroom furniture for the last six years and having various black and white bedding for the past fourteen, it was time for a drastic change!

The look I was going for was a comfy, cozy, cottage-y, casual bedroom that had both masculine and feminine elements. Also, I wanted it to have a serene feel without a lot of accessories (gasp!) and clutter.

So the first order of business was to paint our bed and bedside tables. The paint color that I chose came from the Pottery Barn Winter 2010 paint deck (free at the store). I did not want white or even off-white so I chose Manchester Tan by Benjamin Moore. Although it looks light in the photo, when compared to the stark white plates on the wall you can see a big difference.

I really like the way the garage sale shutters look on our family room mantel, so I borrowed that idea for our bedroom to inject a bit of color. I bought some hinged closet doors at Home Depot and removed the hinges. Then I painted them Santorini Blue by Benjamin Moore (also in the PB paint deck). This is officially my new favorite paint color. Just enough blue but a bit of grey…gorgeous. I propped them against the wall behind the bedside tables and voila…a bit of architectural, dimensional goodness that adds height, interest and color. So much so, that I didn’t hang anything over the bed. I love the clean, simplicity of the wall.

The wooden lamps were an early Christmas gift from my parents (thanks, Mom & Dad). I love the chunky shape and the burlap shades. Perfect.

Nothing says warm and cozy like a pretty quilt, so I chose the “Gemma” quilt from Pottery Barn. It has subtle bits of blue that I wanted to bring out so I used Porcelain Blue pillow shams to accent it.

Next I took this $29.99 beat-up chest from Goodwill, gave it a good sanding and painted it Santorini Blue. I loved the original hardware so I just cleaned it up and put it back on.

To accessorize the wall above it, I hung a garage sale mirror and some thrift store plates using my plate hangers for pennies. Whoa, they look crooked but it’s just a funky angle.

On the chest, I displayed a metal dress form in the perfect color (love), a cool hinged box (both found at HomeSense) and a milk glass lamp that was a thrifty find.

There you have it. Our bedroom makeover. Whew, I’m tired…I think I’ll curl up in here and take a little snooze! 😉

 

Linking up here:

My Backyard EdenBCD 125 http://linda-coastalcharm.blogspot.com/My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia

28 Comments Post a comment
  1. I actually really liked the black but sometimes ya just need to change things up….I LOVE the bed in that creamy white…and that bedding is lovely cottagey!

    December 1, 2010
  2. Kathy #

    You work Fast! Thanks for all your inspiring ideas.

    December 1, 2010
  3. Great makeover, looks so beautiful:))
    Greetings from Biljana

    December 1, 2010
  4. Kim #

    Love your bedroom makeover. What a new look. It looks so warm and cozy. The blue color is what my daughter wants her bedroom painted. I love Pottery Barn bedding and have a lot of it myself. I think every duvet I have is PB, but all bought on sale or ebay. Love your new lamps(good to have them on for photos) so nice and chunky and what wonderful shades. Love the shutter idea behind the nightstands. That bed does bed you to snuggle! Thanks so much for sharing this.

    December 1, 2010
  5. WOW! The Gemma quilt really pops with color! I’m going to go look at their website! Love the pretty look you have now! Perfect for the winter season! ♥

    December 1, 2010
  6. I love, love, love your room redo! The colors are just so beautiful. I just saw the PB Gemma quilt at the store yesterday and fell in love with it. You’ve given me all sorts of great ideas for my house. Thanks!

    December 1, 2010
  7. that is beautiful! it is so much softer and more relaxing now. i love the dresser, and the setup over it. if you lived closer i might come steal that mirror… it is stunning! the whole room is wonderful- thanks for sharing!

    December 1, 2010
  8. Vanessa #

    Its so perfect I am going to be sick! hahahaha LOVE it yet again you are soooo great!! Moving in this week! haha

    December 2, 2010
  9. Mel #

    Wow, what a difference! It’s so soothing and warm. That santorini blue is so pretty.

    December 2, 2010
  10. Van #

    Love the results! Very soft, polished, and feminine. Excellent work 😀

    December 2, 2010
  11. Although the before looked great, I can see why you were ready for a change. I was just telling my husband today that I am so shocked with myself that one of my bathrooms has actually stayed the same color for three years….That is a long lasting record for me.

    Your new room has such a quaint cottage vibe. You must love it…

    Take care,
    Lisa

    December 2, 2010
  12. Beautiful! I thought it was great before but change is nice sometimes. It’s gorgeous now! I love the bedding from PB…beautiful colors. Great job on the GW chest…amazing transformation!

    December 2, 2010
  13. Wonderful transformation!!! I love the new softer pallete and especially the injection of red. (I love red in all it’s forms)

    Come over and visit me sometime . . .
    Angela

    December 2, 2010
  14. What a dramatic change but using the furniture you already owned!! I loved it both ways and understand after having it for so long it is time for a change. Great job!

    December 2, 2010
  15. Beautiful! Love the colors you chose… it’s very warm and cozy. I’m putting your room in the PoPP Spotlight this weekend.

    December 4, 2010
  16. Wanda #

    Love the new look of the bedroom. Can’t wait to see all the Christmas decorations. You are soooo talented.

    December 5, 2010
  17. Cathy #

    It’s a beautiful room! So peaceful : ) Can you tell me what color is on the walls?

    December 5, 2010
  18. Your transformation is stunning, absolutely stunning. I love every detail and I love the way your use of paint “lightened” the feel of the room. It was beautiful before and it’s gorgous now.

    December 5, 2010
  19. Very pretty! I love that dress form!

    December 5, 2010
  20. Beautiful job! You nailed it girl……

    December 5, 2010
  21. Sharlene #

    I love your bedroom makeover–awesome job! I also was wondering– What is the wall color?

    December 18, 2010
    • Hi Sharlene, I’m not sure…it was already here when we moved in. Sorry!

      December 18, 2010
  22. I love this! I also love your cedar chest makeover, so I featured them on “My Top Ten Fav Picks” at Boogieboard Cottage. Have a great weekend! Mary :O)

    April 1, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. petite chest before & after « Maple & Magnolia
  2. mirror, mirror on the wall… « Maple & Magnolia
  3. cedar chest makeover | Maple & Magnolia
  4. restful, relaxing, romantical retreat « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

