Skip to content
sea salt side tables

As I strolled through Salvation Army these long-legged beauties whispered, “psstttt….lady, help us…we need a makeover.” The price was right at $9.99 apiece and they were nice and sturdy with pretty lines.

The tops however, looked liked they’d seen better days.  A couple of ummmmm decades ago? There was water damage, rings, scratches, gouges,  you name it. Those tops were in rough shape.

I went.to.town with the belt sander.

These tables would have been great candidates for staining the top and painting the bottom but they were just too damaged. Painting was the only option. I thought these babes would be lurvely in Sherwin Williams Sea Salt.

Now while I’m all about thrifty finds and great deals, one area I never skimp on is paint and painting supplies.  I’ve found to get the absolute best results you need to use quality products. That goes especially for brushes. There is nothing more annoying than painting and having bristles come off and stick to the paint. The only paintbrushes I use are made by Purdy. They are reasonably priced and are the best brushes I’ve ever used. My personal fave is the Purdy XL Cub. It fits perfectly in my hand and is just the right size for trimwork but wide enough to give beautiful coverage. My favorite part of the brush is the little indention where it says “cub.” Perfect thumb rest and so when I paint it’s like an extension of my hand. Great results I tell ya.

These little side tables are so much happier in their fresh coat of Sea Salt. They told me so.

And their delicate flower knobs add just a touch of vintage charm.

The narrowness of the tables was just perfect for the very small space on each side of our library sofa. Yes, I do own an iron…looks like I missed a spot! 😉

One more time…

before…

and after…

I LOVE a good makeover.

Linking up here:

PURDY AWESOME PARTY

Funky Junk's Saturday Nite SpecialJoin  us Saturdays at tatertotsandjello.com for the  weekend      wrap    up           party!
Photobucket

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. ann #

    Those tables are great! I love the color you used, and they are such a wonderful size. Were those the original knobs? If not, where did you get them?

    December 5, 2010
    • Hi Ann, no these weren’t original. I bought them in a shop here in Oakville but I think I’ve seen the same ones at Hobby Lobby. Have a good day!

      December 5, 2010
  2. Melinda G. Burke #

    As usual you never cease to amaze me! They look like something you would see at Pottery Barn, just BEAUTIFUL.

    December 5, 2010
  3. You are the best…wish I could find such wonderful bargains like that here in Scotland!!!

    December 5, 2010
  4. Those side tables look awesome…you rock!!!

    December 5, 2010
  5. Dang…I am inspired…on my way to Goodwill now!

    December 5, 2010
  6. Melissa #

    I love the tables!! Too bad you found them first, they would’ve been great in my living room! Great Job!

    December 5, 2010
  7. these are beautiful! i love the nice clean lines, and the color is fabulous! they look perfect!

    December 7, 2010
  8. I would have for sure grabbed those tables, too! You did a lovely job refinishing them! The knobs are gorgeous!

    December 8, 2010
  9. these tables turned out great, perfect color choice.

    December 8, 2010
  10. OOh! Love those! I have very similar knobs from Anthropologie. They look perfect nestled next to your couch…

    Take care,
    Lisa

    December 8, 2010
  11. Your tables turned out so pretty…that coming from my 7 year old browsing over my shoulder while I was checking out your post! They did indeed turn out pretty! Those knobs are beautiful! Good Job!

    December 10, 2010
  12. Pam #

    What a fantastic facelift. Beautiful.

    December 11, 2010
  13. Beautiful. I am always happy when I see a table (or two) that has been saved.
    Holly
    504 Main
    DIY Club

    December 19, 2010
  14. I love those tables –gorgeous.

    Cheri

    December 20, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Library tour « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

