Skip to content
potential

The best furniture transformations come from pieces that aren’t perfect but have potential. Don’t look at the pieces for what they are, but for what they could be.  If I see a piece of furniture that catches my eye, I stand there for a minute and size it up running through different scenarios in my head. I ask myself…what if I…painted it, stained it, shabbied it, reupholstered it, or changed the hardware??? Would it transform the piece into something I would have in my home or think that someone else would want for theirs? Simple as that.

Last week I found two such pieces. The first was a no-brainer. It was a beautiful round side table with scalloped edges. Nice and sturdy with great hardware. It had me at hello. And the $7.99 price tag with 30% off of that?  Yes, please.

The next piece required a little more thought.

It was an older piece and though it had a wood frame, the top and shelf are veneer. Normally I would keep on walking because I prefer quality furniture. But this one really had something. I think it was the criss-cross design in front that sealed the deal. Or it could have been the $5.99 price tag? The potential was there for sure.

It’s hard for me to say no to side tables.  To me, they are like shoes…you can never have too many.

I brought them home and painted them with leftover paint from my Project Armoire. The color is Pike’s Peak Gray from Benjamin Moore.

I am on a bit of a blue kick lately. This shade is not blue and not gray, but a gorgeous blend of the two. Very calming. The hardware was spray painted with Rustoleum Heirloom White. Oopsie, I just realized I put this pull on upside down.:)

Here they are as a pair. I’m going to use them as beside tables in our guest room. I like that they are completely different, but are unified by their color. Keeps things interesting!

One more before & after…

Here’s to potential!

Partying here:
Photobucket/Photobucket

24 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ido #

    Your tables are gorgeous, love the round table. I have a thing for tables too, my living room AKA library has 5 and I think it still needs more. Great pictures!

    December 13, 2010
  2. Very pretty, indeed. I too like that they are the same colour, but totally different shapes

    December 13, 2010
  3. Very nice! I love the shade of blue!
    Blessings, Heidi

    December 14, 2010
  4. Mel #

    Now they are perfect

    December 14, 2010
  5. They looks fabulous! And what a bargain!

    December 14, 2010
  6. Bianca #

    They are gorgeous. I have two bedside tables that I am wanting to paint but haven’t imagined the right shade yet, therefore they are still as is. This creamy grey with a hint of blue has just turned on a light bulb for me. Thank you !!

    December 14, 2010
  7. Allison #

    Beautiful transformation. I love the color! I like using different bedside tables. I’ve also done that in our guest room and it creates a fun space.

    December 14, 2010
  8. These turned out darling! I love the white hardware with the grayish blue! I’m your newest follower!!! 🙂

    December 14, 2010
  9. Can I be your guest and have the privilege to enjoy those gorgeous side tables? 😀 Amazing transformation and great color choice! and with that price tag? Lucky you!

    December 14, 2010
  10. Your re-dos are just fantastic! What deals your got – they now look very expensive! Linda

    December 14, 2010
  11. Linda #

    These are wonderful! I have a table very similar to the square one you did. I have been wanting to paint it but was not sure about the veneer. Did you prep the veneer before painting?

    December 14, 2010
    • Hi Linda, I used an oil-based paint so there was no prep work at all.

      December 14, 2010
      • Linda #

        Well I did it. I painted my table with an oil-based white but it seems too bright. I would like to age it some but don’t know what to use due to the oil paint. Any suggestions?

        Thanks

        March 2, 2011
      • Hi Linda, Go to Lowes and get Valspar Antiquing Glaze. It comes in a little container for around 8 bucks. Apply it to the table with a slightly damp lint-free cloth and then wipe off gently with another lint free dry cloth. This should help age it a bit. Let me know if you have any questions.

        March 2, 2011
  12. that is one of my favorite colors. it is very similar to the color of the dresser in my bedroom… and it is just that- calming, serene, pretty.

    December 15, 2010
  13. You are just full of great transformations! I love these. I was just telling my husband how I would like something like one of these to use as a bedside table (for my side of the bed). Nice job!

    December 15, 2010
  14. Kim #

    Oh my goodness, where do you find such great deals. I love both of them. I have got to start hunting.

    December 15, 2010
  15. Wonderful job, looks gorgeous, bravo:))
    Greetings from Europe, Biljana

    December 15, 2010
  16. Wow! I LOVE the color that you painted the tables! Just gorgeous!

    December 17, 2010
  17. I just love the table make over.

    My friend just bought 2 silver table from Ethan Allen and your are just as pretty.

    Janice

    December 17, 2010
  18. Wow! This is so inspiring. You’re giving me all kinds of great ideas. Thanks! (I’d absolutely love it if you were on google friend connect so I could get your updates all the time w/o having to check email)

    December 17, 2010
    • Hi Tamara, Thanks for your nice comments. I’m gonna check into google friend connect and see if I can figure it out! Have a good day!

      December 17, 2010
  19. Meg #

    Oh, they are just beautiful. Where do you find tables that cheap?!? I never have that kind of luck! Great job.

    December 17, 2010
  20. I am featuring you over at itssoverycheri.com today

    Cheri

    December 30, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

