Skip to content
cheap & cheerful bedroom wall

I’ve been wanting to create a pretty focal wall in my daughter’s room that reflects her taste. Her idea was 17 bazillion Twilight posters. Ummm…Not so much.

I didn’t want to spend a lot or have it look too contrived. I wanted a cool collection of shapes, colors and objects that would coordinate with her room’s color palette.

And I wanted it to be bright and fun…just like her!

So I started collecting frames and miscellaneous pieces from thrift stores.

And I selected some yummy colors in my all-time fave spray paint, Rust-oleum Painter’s Touch.

This lovely shadow box thingy became…

this…

these  frames

became this…

and this.

These shabby chic shelves

became this…

and this…

This frame

became this…

An embroidery hoop with some spray paint became this…

Add in a few thrift store pieces on top of a spray painted Goodwill dresser…

Put it all together and you get this…

The only items that I didn’t get from a thrift store were the scrapbook paper in the frames and the pink fabric with birds and owls which was a shower curtain that I cut up. I probably spent less than $30 on everything.

Cheap and cheerful. Love it.

Blog parties I’m joining:
 http://linda-coastalcharm.blogspot.com/

Photobucket
My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia

21 Comments Post a comment
  1. Allison #

    That is an adorable room! It’s so bright and whimsical. I bet your daughter just loves it. Great colors and of course I love the dresser. Turquoise is one of my favorites these days. I can’t believe you spent less than $30. Great job!

    December 15, 2010
  2. What an awesome wall display! I absolutely love it!

    December 15, 2010
  3. Absolutely love it!

    December 15, 2010
  4. I love the color. I hate white walls. So I am always changing my girls rooms. I am so glad that they like color. Your ideas are worth trying in my own. Thanks for posting. Every little girl should be surrounded wilth color.

    December 15, 2010
  5. you got some great finds at the goodwill…love it and i love what you did with them. i am sure your daughter loves her room!!

    December 15, 2010
  6. Damn…you are one “mad” woman with spray paint! All of it is so cute!

    December 15, 2010
  7. You are amazing! Every time I get one of your emails, I hav’ta read it to see what you’ve been up to. Thanks for posting.

    December 15, 2010
  8. WOW … I LOVE it. I think I should try the same thing for my 8yr old. Seems like every 3 months I’m having to re-do her room.

    December 15, 2010
  9. This is amazing! Don’t you love decorating girls’ rooms? I always go for the happy colors, too. By the way, what color green is that on the final picture of the gallery wall? I love it.

    December 16, 2010
  10. WOW…it’s amazing what you can do with just some paint! All of these look awesome…you did a great job!
    Daisy~

    December 18, 2010
  11. OMG! Im in love with your daughter’s room! Im doing something similar for my daughter but I hit a point where I needed more inspiration. THANK YOU FOR ALL THESE WONDERFUL IDEAS!!

    December 19, 2010
  12. Where did you find the cute bedspread? I love the layout of your wall…looks adorable!

    December 20, 2010
  13. LOVE this! Simply adorable!

    December 20, 2010
  14. Oh goodness! The wall looks awesome! I love all the different frames and goodies you collected from the thrift shop and how you coordinated all of them to look so sweeeeet!

    December 21, 2010
  15. Melissa #

    LOVE IT! What colors did you use?

    December 21, 2010
    • Melissa #

      never mind…i’m a nut! i was just admiring pictures again and saw the spray paint?!?!?!?! lol

      December 21, 2010
  16. Melissa #

    also… how did you do the “Hannah” pictures?

    December 21, 2010
    • Hi Melissa, They are just small frames and I cut scrapbook paper to fit and cut out the letters using my Cricut, and glued them on. Easy peasy. 🙂

      December 22, 2010
  17. This accent wall is absolutely adorable! Your choice in colors of paint are perfect and play off of each other amazingly (not sure that’s a word.. but amazingly it is:))!
    Blessings
    Roxanne

    December 30, 2010
  18. Hi! I’m a designer for Colorbök and some of those papers you used are from our Heidi Grace Taking Flight collection! We would love to feature this project on our blog – email me!

    January 17, 2011
  19. Sorry, typed the blog address incorrectly in my last comment, here it is: http://colorbok.typepad.com/

    Also, did you know JoAnns carries fabric from that collection now too? 😉

    January 17, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

