Skip to content
new-to-us coffee table

This summer I found a coffee table for ten dollars at a garage sale. The Queen Anne legs were nice, but it was a little too small for the space.

A few days ago I spotted a more substantial one at Salvation Army.

It was dark and dusty and at $59.99, more than I usually pay for thrifty furniture. But it was super-duper heavy, had beautiful lines and I loved it…so it came home with me.

I painted it in Benjamin Moore’s “Cloud White.” (That weird streak is from the sun).

The white paint refreshed it and covered the knicks and blemishes beautifully.

It fits the room much better and it will be fun to decorate!

Right now it holds our Nativity scene.

I love our new-to-us coffee table!

Linking up to these parties:
Make it Yours @ My Backyard Eden http://linda-coastalcharm.blogspot.com/PhotobucketMy Uncommon Slice of Suburbia

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mel #

    Ok my new best friend, it’s time to dish on how you get such a beautfiul finish on all of your painted pieces. And of course I want to know where you get all the time to do so many wonderful makeovers.

    What a great table.

    December 16, 2010
    • Hey Mel. My tips are: 1) I use Para brand Melamine (oil based) paint 2) I use a roller with “Red Feather” brand rollers. 3) I use a Purdy brush for detail. It’s all about the products! I get a lot done because I don’t work outside the home. I enjoy painting so I paint just about every day. And I usually paint several pieces at a time so that helps. Thanks for the ad…they were beautiful and priced great but I’m winding down till after the holidays! 😉

      December 16, 2010
  2. Mel #

    Did you see this ad? If I had the skills (hint hint)that you have, I’d snatch these two up, pronto. (I hope the link works)

    http://toronto.kijiji.ca/c-buy-and-sell-furniture-other-tables-Night-Stands-W0QQAdIdZ248686475

    December 16, 2010
  3. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. #

    I love big coffee tables and this one turned out to be perfect! Well done!

    December 16, 2010
  4. Oh I completely love this…chunky, Pottery Barnish (I just made that a word), LOVE it!!! If I had the time and could buy that much spray paint without people looking at me funny, I would probably paint everything white.

    December 16, 2010
  5. I’m so glad that you splurged and bought the coffee table! Then you went ahead and TRANSFORMED it! Looks beautiful, your nativity too! Merry Christmas! jules

    December 16, 2010
  6. I think your coffee table looks divine. Great job in picking the color and the finish looks flawless. Terry

    December 16, 2010
  7. it looks so soft and pretty! i love that shade of white- it’s the perfect white.

    December 16, 2010
  8. Pottery Barn came to my mind when I saw this! Very cool!

    December 17, 2010
  9. I really like the coffee table…the paint job is really good!!!! I too would have paid $50+…it is a great coffee table.

    December 17, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. B’s family room « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

