Skip to content
my new favorite salad & dressing

Okay. Two things you will never see on this blog…posts about fashion or cooking.

My sense of fashion is non-existent. If I had to classify my fashion style, I’d say it falls under the category of “hobo chic.” Kinda like “boho chic” but less chic. ūüėČ

I just don’t love clothes the way I love pillows and accessories. I’d rather dress the house than me.

To me, cooking is a necessary evil. You go to all this trouble to make something, people eat it, and then you have a huge mess to clean up. I don’t understand how some people love cooking. ¬†Not. at. all.

But I do love eating…so this post is more about eating than it is cooking.

Here is my new FAVORITE salad. Round these parts it’s known as a “Muskoka Salad.”

For my version, I buy a pre-made chicken caesar salad from the grocery store. Then I add sliced strawberries, blueberries and chopped walnuts.

Now for the piaz de resistance…the dressing…oh, the dressing.

Italian Citrus Salad Dressing
-1/3 c. fresh squeezed orange juice
-1/4 cup oil
-2 Tbs. Red Wine Vinegar
-2 Tbs. sugar
-1 dry pkg. italian dressing mix (I like the Good Seasons Brand)
-pinch of garlic powder

Recipe from Sherelle Christensen’s blog

Do yourself a favor. Make this salad and dressing for lunch (or dinner) one day.

Your tastebuds will thank me.

Linking here:

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Teresa #

    Looks yummy…thanks!

    December 17, 2010
  2. That looks so delicious and healthy! Perfect for this time of year when there is so much junk food around!

    December 17, 2010
  3. Allison #

    Looks and sounds delicious. It makes a pretty Christmas salad with the red strawberries.

    December 17, 2010
  4. mary paulson #

    The pictures look delightful, can’t wait to try it!

    December 17, 2010
  5. SO glad you like the dressing! Now…I just need to make a salad like yours and give it a whirl! Looks delish!

    December 17, 2010
  6. Lynn Stolt #

    That salad and dressing sound wonderful. Can’t wait to try them and think I will substitute pecans (my fav nut) instead of the walnuts. Thanks for sharing.

    December 18, 2010
  7. I’ll definitely give it a try! Thanks for sharing.

    Warmly, Michelle

    December 18, 2010
  8. Dee in N.H. #

    Mmmmm, that sounds really good! I’m with you on the cooking thing! Especially at holidays. You spend hours getting ready, 20 mins. to eat and then another hour or so cleaning up! LOL!

    December 19, 2010
  9. Hello! I found you at Tater Tots and Jello and I am loving your blog! I wanted to invite you to enter my $50 American Express giveaway and my link party that are both going on this week! Keep up the great blogging and happy holidays! -Dana

    http://danajeanward.blogspot.com/2010/12/50-american-express-giveaway-ends.htm

    December 21, 2010

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

