Skip to content
Confessions of a Goodwill Stalker :)

Leaving Goodwill the other day I saw some people dropping off a dining room table and chairs. Stalker alert!!! Eeerrrkkkkk. U-turn. Back into store.

Now do we need a new kitchen table? Not really. I’m  just tired of our round, black one. I want a large rectangular white table to lighten things up.

The table is nice and sturdy and while it’s not my dream farmhouse table, it’ll do just fine for now. (And at 30 bucks, it’s $2700 less). I kinda like the interesting legs and metal scrolls underneath.

My first thought was to stain the top and paint the bottom white. But I’m not crazy about oak and the wood was sooooo dry. It needed more work than I was willing to put into it.

So I painted it Cloud White and gave it a good distressing. Ahhhh…so fresh and clean.

The chairs that went with it? Well, turns out they didn’t “go” with it and were too wide to fit comfortably under the table. So I am using my existing chairs (which I still love). I was looking forward to having upholstered seats but these will do for now.

My family gave me grief that they didn’t match. I kind of like the mis-matched look because they tie in with the black metal scrolls underneath the table and with our buffet that sits behind the table. But mostly because I really, really don’t want to paint the chairs. 🙂

So I consulted my design manual (Potterybarn.com) 😉 and searched till I found this.

If it’s good enough for good ol’ PB, then it’s good enough for me!

I love how the white table just brightens and lightens everything up!

Linking up to these parties:
Chic on a Shoestring Decorating
PhotobucketFunky Junk's Saturday Nite SpecialMy Backyard Eden

30 Comments Post a comment
  1. It’s just gorgeous and 30 bucks plus elbow grease is a complete steal!

    I’ve been toying with a similar idea for our dining room, but keep procrastinating because I’ve heard white paint doesnt stand up to a lot of abuse. Maybe I should just go for it!

    January 2, 2011
    • Hi Shay. I used an oil-based Melamine paint made by Para that can take all kinds of abuse. I buy it at our Ben Moore store. Go for it!

      January 2, 2011
  2. Glenda Harder #

    I love the “after” table. Such pretty legs. I like it better than the PB one, but I do think the PB chairs would look great around your table. Keep thrifting, you will find them.

    January 2, 2011
  3. Gloria Richards #

    I like it!!! Fantastic buy and I like the combo of dark and light. I must be getting old as I could barely seew the lines to sign in. Any way am think about this for my dining area. Happy New Year!

    January 2, 2011
  4. Bland Reddy #

    Its a gorgeous combination! When you get your dream farm table I’d be happy to take this set off your hands! 🙂

    January 2, 2011
    • Bland…it’s a deal! Also, I think I’m having a January “white sale.” Furniture, accessories, etc. U interested?

      January 2, 2011
  5. What a great Goodwill find! I always wait to see what people are dropping off to see if it might be something I want..so far no luck! You did great and how fun that is! Thanks for sharing! DH and I head to GW every Sunday morning when they open and see what treasures we can find. We always take the pickup so there’s no excuse that it won’t fit in the car. Have a great week!

    January 2, 2011
  6. Hannah #

    its beautiful mom and i didnt give u grief only da boys did!

    January 2, 2011
  7. Okay, I need to visit YOUR Goodwill. Awesome deal and I love the metal scroll. The table turned out so well.

    January 2, 2011
  8. Gorgeous! Love the paint on that table and I love the black chairs with it too!! What a great find! Thanks for sharing at Feathered Nest Friday!

    January 2, 2011
  9. what a steal!!! that is beautiful- love the details on the legs! and those scrolls!

    January 2, 2011
  10. Wow! That was worth burning rubber on the u-turn! It turned out gorgeous and your current chairs looks wonderful too! And if you really want a cushy for your tushy, you can find/sew some chair pads! But frankly I think it looks fabulous the way it is. Nice job!

    January 2, 2011
  11. Kim #

    I love how the table turned out. And I love the black chairs with it. You did good!!

    January 2, 2011
  12. I dream of the day I find something like this at the Goodwill. We are in need of a table like this! I might have to do some Goodwill stalking of my own. 🙂

    Blessings to you,
    Holly
    http://hallelujahsbyholly.blogspot.com

    January 2, 2011
  13. Fabulous! I LOVE that table! And love the black and white combination. Very unexpected and elegant!

    Donna
    http://funkyjunkinteriors.blogspot.com/

    January 2, 2011
  14. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. #

    From one Goodwill stalker to another – great find! And I love the black and white combination. It’s so much more interesting that way!

    January 2, 2011
  15. Mel #

    It’s a stunner! Great Find. Be sure to let me know if you have your white sale 🙂

    January 2, 2011
  16. bellamichellesc #

    I love your “new” kitchen table/chairs combo. I think it has tons of great character. Good job! You win Goodwill Stalker of the Week.

    January 2, 2011
  17. I love the lines of this piece and definitely love the farmhouse feel. My dream table would be a farmhouse table. Unfortunately I am just not ready to part with our oval dining room table (because it is so sturdy and large that you can do an Irish jig on it without it wobbling a bit). It was terribly ugly in it’s previous state, but I finally refinished the table and chairs! I learned that refinishing one chair is not a big deal….refinishing six on the other hand was not a walk in the park!

    January 2, 2011
  18. Your “new” table is beautiful! And for $30 you can’t go wrong! I really love it and I think it is especially nice with the black chairs.
    Hugs, Cindy

    January 3, 2011
  19. Wow! I love it! What a huge score at Goodwill for you! Looking forward to all of your wonderful finds this year.

    January 3, 2011
  20. Love, love, love it. Wow.

    January 4, 2011
  21. wow beautiful!!

    January 6, 2011
  22. LOVE.

    January 7, 2011
  23. I love this table! I am so glad you bought it and it looks great white with the black chairs!!!

    January 8, 2011
  24. Great projects. Specially the dining room table. I am in the same ‘predicament’ Found a great deal on a white oval IKEA pedastal table and 4 chairs. Really wanted just the 4 chairs. Gonna combine with my oak pedestal table and paint out the base to match the chairs.

    January 8, 2011
  25. Oh my goodness – it’s wonderful. I have an oak table that my parents worked very hard to refinish 30 years ago. I wonder if they would disinherit me if I painted it. If you have time, I would love for you to link this post to my blog party at http://firstadream.blogspot.com/

    January 9, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. January Recap « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

