Skip to content
Today’s Thrifty Finds

I’m so excited to show you my latest thrifty finds. While I normally do not buy upholstered furniture second-hand because of the cootie factor, I simply couldn’t pass this chair up.

It was listed on kijiji for $40. 40 bucks! Worth a drive into Toronto to pick up. And I’m happy to report that it’s clean, comfortable and cootie-free. It looks fab in our family room.

While in Toronto, I stopped into Value Village on Bloor Street. O.M. goodness. That store is HUGE! Because I had a certain non-thrift-loving teenager who was sweet enough to go help me pick up the chair, it was a very quick in-and-out trip.

But not so quick that I didn’t find a few goodies!

Check out this subway art I got. It looks great above my husband’s weathered leather chair.

And this lurvely chair that someone got a little gold-paint-pen-happy on for $9.99! Can’t wait to transform it. I’m thinking glossy black with chic fabric.

That’s it for today’s thrifty finds.

Toodles.

Linking up:
The DIY Show Off
 http://linda-coastalcharm.blogspot.com/

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. Awesome finds and a great re-do on the houndscheck chair, really stunning!

    January 3, 2011
  2. What great finds. It must have been torture not to explore each and every corner of the store.
    Congrats on your finds.
    Traci

    January 3, 2011
  3. Feeling a bit jealous of your gorgeous Subway signs! Great Job! The Hound’s Tooth chair is adorable, and in such great shape. Stopping over from Linda’s NTT party

    January 3, 2011
  4. patricia doggett #

    as usual, fantastic finds, and great ideas on how to “fix” the seeemly “unfixable!” thanks for sharing!!

    pat doggett-mid-alabama-bound

    January 3, 2011
  5. great finds- love the subway art! we have value village, too and i love it! it’s soooo fun! wish you were closer so we could roam the aisles together!

    January 3, 2011
  6. Looks like you had a great day shopping. That chair is really nice and I love the fabric. Have a great day.

    January 3, 2011
  7. I love the chair! The subway art is fab too!

    January 3, 2011
  8. what great finds…love, love that chair – I would have driven to Toronto for it, too (and that is quite a distance for me!!)

    January 4, 2011
  9. Love the chair and subway art. I am hesitant about upholstered furniture too but that chair looks like it was taken care of. The chair will be great black!

    January 4, 2011
  10. Hi! Those are some awesome finds! I would like to invite you to link up to my new blog party, Masterpiece Monday, at my blog, Boogieboard Cottage. The link will be up until the 9th. I hope you can join in the fun!

    Happy New year!
    Mary

    January 4, 2011
  11. SCORE! Great finds. Terry

    January 5, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. More thrifty finds « Maple & Magnolia
  2. Writing Desk « Maple & Magnolia
  3. tres magnifique! | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

