Skip to content
More thrifty finds

Are you sick of my thrifty finds yet? I’m not! 😉

So today I was on the hunt for a pair of matching side tables to go next to my new thrifty houndstooth chair and my hubby’s comfy worn leather chair.

I wanted to place them in front of the windows on each side of the fireplace, so they needed to have a flat back.

It must be because of  the lucky charms I ate for breakfast cause I got lucky at Value Village.

Oh yeah…$14.99 each for these babies.

They are exactly the look I was going for. And somebody better take my temperature because I don’t think I’m gonna paint them. {GASP} I will definitely  paint the hardware with oil-rubbed bronze spray paint. Brass=ug.

This space isn’t finished yet…I’m gonna make some pretty panels (with blues, browns and tans) for the side windows to inject some color into the room. The chair needs a pillow and a throw. And the mantel needs some serious tweaking. Narrow mantels are such a pain to decorate. Any ideas????  Should I prop a mirror for some height?

Overall I’m loving where this is headed.  I love that I added three big pieces to this room for a grand total of 70 bucks.

Thrifting is where it’s at, people…Retail is for chumps! 😉

Linking up here:

 http://linda-coastalcharm.blogspot.com/ Chic on a Shoestring DecoratingThe DIY Show Off

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sharon Kolb #

    I want to come shop with you (with a big truck!)

    January 4, 2011
  2. My goodness you’re really scoring these days! What great pieces.

    January 4, 2011
  3. Happy New Year! Love the tables and the price!! Gave you a shout out for one of your ideas!!

    http://johnhoodfamily.blogspot.com/2011/01/some-ideas-for-2011.html

    January 4, 2011
  4. Happy New Year! Gave you a shout out on one of your ideas!!

    http://johnhoodfamily.blogspot.com/2011/01/some-ideas-for-2011.html

    January 4, 2011
  5. Man…you have some good thrift stores up there!!!

    January 4, 2011
  6. Those side tables are perfect for your space. Congrats! Have you ever thought of hanging a stained glass piece in front of your fireplace window? It would add great color, dimension, and reflections to your room – and decrease the need to add much to your narrow mantel.

    January 4, 2011
  7. mcoffeesnob #

    so glad u left them brown. 🙂

    January 4, 2011
  8. Jennifer Robbins #

    Nope, not tired of your thrifting! I hop on your site everyday to see what you’ve created. Such an inspiration!!

    January 4, 2011
  9. Melinda Burke #

    It must have been the Lucky Charms because they are a perfect fit in front of your windows. Love what you have done so far!

    January 4, 2011
  10. I am continually in awe of your fantastic finds! You find awesome, CHEAP stuff. I can’t be much help with the mantel as I don’t even have one at my house, but I like where you’re going with this room.

    January 4, 2011
  11. I love the addition of the side tables!! What a great find!

    January 4, 2011
  12. They look great there. I found my good deals before I had a blog…lol…

    January 4, 2011
  13. I love seeing your thrifty finds. I agree I would not paint these either. Congrats on you successful thrifty.
    Traci

    January 4, 2011
  14. Wanda #

    Room looks great. To bad the drawers weren’t on the end. I know where they could have found a home.

    January 5, 2011
  15. Mary Paulson #

    I for one will never tire of bargains from any thrift shop.garage sale, etc. I was fortunate to start off my married life 43 years ago now,going to garage sales. In
    southern california they were popular. People tell me what
    a beautiful home we have because of its over the top interior decorating. When I want to change colors or style
    it doesn’t cost me a fortune . I hit the sales at thrift shops and before you know it , for $100.00 or less I change the room.I love it. Its so much fun!

    January 5, 2011
  16. I am drooling over those tables. I’ve been looking for exactly that type to use as nightstands. $14.99! I’d better start eating Lucky Charms!

    February 9, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. If you buy a bargain chair… « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

