Skip to content
Goodwill dresser-turned-media-console

We have a 70″ television (A.K.A. decorating NIGHTMARE) in our family room.  It used to be in the basement, but the truth is…we don’t like being in the basement. It seemed like a waste to have a really nice tv that we never watched for the sake of decorating. Plus, I have three sports fanatics who I love more than I love a pretty family room. So…compromise time.

This is how it looked until today sitting on that YOO-GLY glass media stand. (Actually this photo was taken as my hubby was dismantling it, but you get the idea). See the problem??? 5 components and the cords…oh for the love of Pete, the cords. There was just no place to hide them.

See this bad boy? I found him at Goodwill for $24.99. He’s big (72″ wide), sturdy and in perfect condition. Just in need of a little updating.

So I got my favorite teenager to remove all the hardware as I got busy painting.

I painted it in an oil based black paint and sprayed the hardware in Rustoleum’s Satin Nickel.

The best part besides the fact that it’s pretty? The storage!!! Boy, do I love all those drawers to hold the bazillion remotes, xBox stuff, games, CD’s, DVD’s, extra cords and cables, etc!

Result? Happy sports fanatics watching the Sugar Bowl…happy me not looking at that crappola glass television stand.

It’s all about compromise!

Linking up to these parties:

DIY Club http://linda-coastalcharm.blogspot.com/ Chic on a Shoestring DecoratingThe DIY Show OffDomestically Speaking

26 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mel #

    only about 100 bajillion times better! Fantastic work Susan, as always.

    January 5, 2011
  2. that is soooo much better. i hate those glass tv stand thingies, too. this new piece has style function, and flows well with the tv. thanks for joining my party! i always look forward to your posts!

    January 5, 2011
  3. Love it! What a great idea…and so beautiful.

    I also love the rest of the room as well.

    You are one talented lady!

    January 5, 2011
  4. Glenda Harder #

    MUCH classier!

    January 5, 2011
  5. Love it! Go Bucks!!

    January 5, 2011
  6. vanessa #

    O.M.G. W.O.W!! Only you!!

    January 5, 2011
  7. Wow we are watching the Sugar Bowl too!! Great re-do, and we also have a Shih Tzu doing the same thing!

    January 5, 2011
  8. That is one gorgeous media cabinet. What a wonderful find.
    Traci

    January 5, 2011
  9. Hi, I love it! I’ve been on the look out for something similar myself. I would like to invite you to link up to my new blog party, Masterpiece Monday, at my blog, Boogieboard Cottage. The link will be up until the 9th. I hope you can join in the fun!

    Happy New year!
    Mary

    January 5, 2011
  10. Debra Meyer #

    You find the best things at the best prices!! Lucky you! The prices here would be triple that, no kidding! Out thrift stores are expensive now, not like they used to be! I guess I need to move to Canada! Thanks for all of your great ideas! Happy New Year!

    January 5, 2011
  11. Cheryl #

    I love that dresser. All the clean lines and vintage appeal. Great job and great find.

    January 5, 2011
  12. Aaaah much better! And I love the wall that it’s against. The frames and plates are perfect!

    January 5, 2011
  13. Kim #

    That is a wonderful transformation for sure! I hope I can find some furniture bargains like that to redo. Your room looks great now. Thanks for sharing this at the party!

    January 5, 2011
  14. That looks fabulous! Is the piece solid wood or no? I have a piece that definitely is NOT real wood…but I love the bones and want to give it a serious makeover. Moved it into the garage…maybe I’ll get started after I stare nervously at it for a week or two.

    January 5, 2011
    • Hi Casey, Yep…solid wood with dovetailed drawers. Just dive in…don’t be nervous! I bet it’ll look fab.

      January 5, 2011
  15. Oh. my. goodness! That is awesome! You are so very talented!

    January 5, 2011
  16. Very inspiring! I hope I can score a Goodwill find like yours. Our media console needs to retire soon.

    January 5, 2011
  17. It looks great, and so professional looking. Love that big clock above it also.

    January 6, 2011
  18. Dina #

    Wow! Great job! You make it look so easy.Your Good Will has the best stuff. Planning trip now (1) Step rent UHaul…

    January 6, 2011
  19. Wow, I love this. In fact I scour the thrift stores searching for the exact same thing for the exact same problem! (Well not the big tv, but need for a new entertainment center).

    It fits in nicely, great job 🙂

    January 6, 2011
  20. Wow, fantastic job. This looks like you spent hundreds of dollars on it in a high end store. Great transformation and the loads of storage is a huge plus!

    January 6, 2011
  21. Polly Hightower #

    Love it! Looks great. But what did you do with the DVD player, DVR, etc.?

    January 7, 2011
    • Good question, Polly. I was going to take out the top drawers and make a shelf for them to go on but the dresser is so pretty, I didn’t want to lose the drawers. So I’m looking for a small glass-doored shelf to sit next to the console. I guess I solved one problem but then created another!

      January 7, 2011
  22. Just stopped over to see some of your projects. (Thanks for your sweet comments on my blog). You have done some great work over here yourself! I love your dresser-turned-console, too! Great minds do think alike 🙂

    January 8, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. January Recap « Maple & Magnolia
  2. can of worms « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

