Skip to content
Let’s talk linens

The first thing that comes to mind when I think thrift store linens is, “Circle circle dot dot, now I need my cootie shot.”

Linens are not something I normally buy up when thrifting because of the ewww factor.  My exception is drapes. I’ve found several sets of Pottery Barn ones at thrifty stores and I love them. A little Oxi Clean and they are good as new.

The other day I made a major thrifty linen haul. I found six beautiful fine linen/matelasse pillow covers, NEW with tags.

Wanna see? You know you do… 😉

Pardon the wrinkles!

I’m going to have these monogrammed and they’re gonna look like a million bucks!

Did you check out those price tags??? Had I paid retail (NEVER) for these six pillows, the total would have been $428 plus tax which is a bazillion percent here in Toronto.

I got them for 99 cents each with no tax for total of $5.94….a savings of $422.06. 🙂

I also picked up this bee-you-tee-ful upholstery fabric for 99 cents each piece. Probably from the same donator. I’ve got big plans for this stuff…

Here are the pillows with inserts…

So next time you are thrifting, before you turn your nose up at the linens section…you might want to just take a little look-see.

Thuh linens sec-shun is like a bawks of chawcletts…yuh nevah know what yuh gunna geyut.

Said in my best Forest Gump voice. 😉

Linking up here:
 http://linda-coastalcharm.blogspot.com/Chic on a Shoestring DecoratingThe DIY Show OffMake it Yours @ My Backyard EdenMy Uncommon Slice of Suburbia giveaways

 

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Renee #

    Wow! What a deal! They are so pretty perched up on your bench.

    January 6, 2011
  2. Mel #

    You are the queen of thrifting, seriously great haul!

    I buy material goods all of the time, but they go in the wash as soon as they come out of the bag. I also bring my own bags to double bag once I leave the store.

    As you know, cooties are epidemic in Toronto and though I don’t go there often to thrift, whose to say that our area doesn’t get stuff from there.

    Best to be safe.

    January 6, 2011
  3. My first stop at the thrift store is the rack of curtains. I have bought several gorgeous sets. My latest find was a very light blue shabby chic brand shower curtain. I can’t wait to use it. 🙂

    January 6, 2011
  4. Melinda Burke #

    I just LOVE LINENS! I have found some of my BEST at the Goodwill. Ralph Lauren, Pottery Barn, William Sonoma just to name a few. I have learned in my thrift shopping to look at it ALL!

    January 6, 2011
  5. Rondell #

    Wow, you sure hit the jackpot, they look great!

    January 6, 2011
  6. Beth #

    Wowee-zowee!!! I live in Nashville and SOOO appreciate your Southern humor! I love your site and absolutely love your decorating ideas. I have bookmarked several so that I can have a starting place when I find thrift-store goodies that catch my eye.

    Keep up the fantastic work!!! Love, love, love your style!

    January 6, 2011
  7. I love love love your blog. I have read every post! I also love finding goodies at the goodwills and thrift stores and redoing furniture. Your children are adorable and of course I am in love with your shih tzu! I have a little shih tzu also. Your home is beautiful! I so enjoyed reading all your post and I look forward to seeing what you will find next.

    January 6, 2011
  8. You certainly scored big on this haul. Great eye. Terry

    January 7, 2011
  9. I seriously love linens, too.
    In fact, my ebay name is leslieloveslinens.
    I just opened the acct. and will be spending this year selling off my stash!
    I would have fought you for those pillow shams if we were headed up the aisle toward them at the same time! 😉
    I would have told you to “Run, Forrest, Run!”
    We have a GoodWill Clearance Center here in town, where everything is $1.19 a pound. Last Fall, I found a Pottery Barn sofa and chair slipcover-brand new- in the “bins”.
    I think they cost me $10/both?
    You and I would get in so much trouble together!
    It’s so nice to have found your blog!
    HUGS and blessings to you as you make your home!
    ~Leslie

    January 7, 2011
  10. oh my goodness!! that is an amazing deal!!

    January 8, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

