Skip to content
Life’s too short to look at cork…

Life’s too short to look at cork

oh no, that will not do.

Find a piece of rockin’ fabric

and stick it on with glue.

Hey, if this furniture refinishing/decorating gig doesn’t work out at least I have my poetry to fall back on! 😉

This project could not be any easier.

I had two black framed cork boards that were nice but no matter how ya frame it, cork is just ugly.

Since they are hanging on each side of my new writing desk and chair, I wanted to cover them in coordinating fabric.

I had another pillowcase so I cut it apart and covered the cork with it.

I cut it to fit, then used a staple gun to staple it in place. Then I took off-white grosgrain ribbon and hot glued it around the edges to finish it off.

The pushpins were actually magnets from the dollar bins at Michaels a while back. I used this technique to turn them into pushpins.

I like the updated corkboards look in the room and they are sooooo much prettier with fabric than they were naked…aren’t we all? 😉

Before I show you another project I did for this room, I have a little tip for ya. I’m sure most of you do this, but just in case…

A simple solution for unsightly dangling cords (they bug me) is to wrap the cord several times around leg of furniture that is most out of sight and closest to an outlet. It works even better if the cord is the same color as the furniture!

Moving on…I found this super cool in/out tray on a stand at my favorite hang-out…Goodwill. It was love at first sight. Sure it was dark and dusty and cob-webby but mwahhh ha ha…I had a plan!

I pried off the “in” and “out” plates and went to town with Rustoleum’s Glossy White spray paint.

Check it out now…

As you can see I have a big stack of very important business waiting in my “in” basket. 😉

One last look at it all together…

Thanks for stopping by. Enjoy your weekend!

Linky Links:
PhotobucketThe DIY Show OffMake it Yours @ My Backyard EdenMy Uncommon Slice of Suburbia Chic on a Shoestring Decoratingfreckled laundry

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. Love love love the in/out box table it looks amazing painted white.

    January 8, 2011
  2. Beautiful ideas!!!!!

    January 8, 2011
  3. Rebecca P #

    How do you find these awesome things at Goodwill? My Goodwill NEVER has anything like that! The In/Out stand is fabulous! Love the corkbords too. My daughters and I are getting ready to do that project on a much larger scale for their bedrooms.

    January 8, 2011
    • Hi Rebecca, I think I find good stuff because I’m there just about every day. (It’s on my way home after I take my kiddos to school.) Some days there is crappola, other days I hit the jackpot! Good luck with your corkboard project…they are so easy!

      January 8, 2011
  4. Melinda Burke #

    Susan, is this the master bedroom? or a Guest Room? I don’t remember seeing a Black and White Bedroom. It’s just FANTASTIC what you did! I am now on the lookout now for a Writing Desk for my Bedroom!

    January 8, 2011
    • Melinda, this is the guest room. It got our master bedroom bedding when I replaced it. I hope you find a desk!

      January 8, 2011
  5. The tray table is great! I love what you did with it.

    January 8, 2011
  6. LOVE it! Its sad how much I like organizing:) I love the cork boards. I have a plan for something like that above my sewing table when we move:)

    January 8, 2011
  7. I am just loving your blog…so glad I am onboard!

    January 8, 2011
  8. Awesome find and it looks so pretty now!

    {I’m not sure if it is just me, but lately I am finding that your photos are showing up on my screen distorted, very elongated and not proportional. Just thought I would let you know. The sidebar is showing up on my screen quite wide, and the post area is not much wider than the sidebar so this could be contributing to it.}

    January 8, 2011
    • Thanks, Elizabeth…I’m checking into it!

      January 8, 2011
    • Yes, its doing the same on my screen. I still love looking around though. Found you a couple days ago and I have yet to X out of your blog:)

      January 8, 2011
  9. The cork boards turned out darling! I love how you added the ribbon to the outer edge! Now, this in and out tray-CUTE!!! Unbelievable find!!! Your room just looks amazing!

    January 8, 2011
  10. Sharon #

    Great find. It could also be used as a serving tray.

    January 8, 2011
  11. What a wonderful SHARE that was about the cord…I’d NEVER heard or seen that before! Life changer (that sounds a bit dramatic) but this is truly fabulous for the cord dangling phobic! Thanks so much!

    http://www.northerncottage.blogspot.com

    January 10, 2011
  12. Joy #

    OMG!!! I am soooo jealous! That in/out table is GORGEOUS!!! My daughter saw your blog and said, “Mom, she is just like you.” Lol. Goodwill is my best friend, too. I agree w/ you about the cork. Mine stays fully dressed, as well. Love your fabric!

    January 12, 2011
  13. Love the cork board transformation, Susan! I adore your refinished in/out table too!…but I LOVE the tip about wrapped the cord around the leg. Duh! Why didn’t I think of that? Sometimes the simplest ideas are SO profound.

    Thanks for sharing with air your laundry Friday!

    xoxo,
    Jami

    January 14, 2011
  14. kelly #

    When you repaint a piece of furniture, do you sand it down first? I love what you’ve done, and i’ve always wanted to refresh a piece. I’m just not sure how to do it. I see that you’ve listed your favorite paint, so that should help.

    January 14, 2011
    • Kelly, It depends. I use oil-based paint a LOT. In that case (unless the furniture is in rough shape) I don’t sand or even prime. I just give it a few coats of oil-based melamine paint and it has a beautiful finish every time. If I spray paint or use latex, I usually sand and prime. I hope this helps. Feel free to email me if you have other questions.

      January 14, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

