Skip to content
Buh Bye Morticia…

I found this pretty clock at one of my favorite thrift stores.

I loved the heavy carving, shape, the pendulum (basically everything about it). Except that it had a serious Morticia Addams vibe going on.

Duh, duh, duh, duh…snap snap. ๐Ÿ™‚

This clock needed to lighten up. Literally.

So I took it apart, taped and papered off the face, took out the glass and got busy with my favorite spray paint Rustoleum Heirloom White.

A couple of coats later and buh bye Morticia.

Linking up here:
The DIY Show OffMake it Yours @ My Backyard EdenPhotobucket

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. Melinda Burke #

    You are like me! I just LOVE, LOVE, White. So pretty and what a difference!

    January 13, 2011
  2. Renee #

    Great re-do. Much of my furniture, accessories is spray painted with heirloom white…great shade!

    January 13, 2011
  3. Looks super in it’s new white dress, though I do have to say, I like it’s little black number two. What I always love though, is the difference a little paint can make!

    January 13, 2011
  4. Looks super in it’s new white dress, though I do have to say, I like it’s little black number t0o. What I always love though, is the difference a little paint can make!

    January 13, 2011
  5. Leslie Harris #

    I am thrilled that I found your blog! My family tells me that I need to go to Goodwiller’s Anonymous! I no longer pay full price for picture frames. I either find the cutest ones at Goodwill, or I find crappy ones and spray paint them! I’ve had 2 grandchildren born in the last year and a half, so of course I have tons of new pictures that needed hanging! Not to mention everything else I find at Goodwill…love those stores, and love your blog!!

    January 13, 2011
  6. What a great change!!! As always you inspire me!

    January 13, 2011
  7. Excellent makeover. Well done. I love the photo of Morticia – lol
    Keep up the great work, you leave us all way behind.

    January 13, 2011
  8. Leslie #2 says:
    ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Wonderful Whimsical White!
    I have a “Morticia” Clock, too!
    Now I know what I’m going to do with it!
    Thank you for the ideas!
    HUGS,
    me
    P.S. I may have to wait till Spring, though.
    It’s 29 degrees and too cold to spray paint. Sigh.

    January 13, 2011
  9. Wow! That’s awesome!

    January 13, 2011
  10. Lindsay #

    I have a Grandmother clock – it was literally my Grandmother’s – and wanted to do the same, but with a different color. Did you sand this or just paint it?

    January 13, 2011
  11. Cindy #

    Much better in white. It might be nice to add some glazing in a darker shade to highlight the beautiful carving.

    January 13, 2011
  12. White makes everything just right, doesn’t it?!

    January 13, 2011
  13. Oh my!! I love it with the white paint, gorgeous!
    XO
    Kristin

    January 14, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

