Skip to content
mirror, mirror on the wall…

Back in December, our bedroom received a makeover.

On one of the walls I created an arrangement with a mirror and some ironstone plates. It was fine for a while but didn’t really make very much of a statement on a fairly large wall.

One thing I can never pass up at thrift stores is mirrors. Preferably ornate gold gilded mirrors. I find them cheap and I find them often. And they almost always come home with me.

I’d been collecting for a while and decided to expand the arrangement already in place. I painted the center mirror heirloom white (the gold just didn’t flow) and the additional thrifty mirrors as well.

Here is the after…

The new arrangement does a better job filling the space. The mirrors reflect the natural light coming in from the windows opposite them which is a bonus.

I will probably add a few more mirrors as I find them.

Always tweaking!

Joining these parties:
Chic on a Shoestring DecoratingPhotobucket

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mel #

    Oh yah! Very nice arrangement. I really like the oval frame, it kind of looks like snowflakes all around it.

    Reflecting the incoming light is an added bonus.

    We didn’t make it to Hamilton yesterday because of all the snow 😦

    I’m going to Michaels shortly to see if I can find those butterfly knobs, so thanks for the heads up. I hope my location sells them.

    OMG, I just realized that you have me in your illustrious line up of blogs. Thank you so much Susan, I am honoured.

    January 16, 2011
    • Mel, let me know if you can’t find them…ours had plenty and I’ll pick some up for you. I figured your Hamilton trip wouldn’t be a go…it was a real mess yesterday! Definitely prettier today but SO COLD!!! Keep warm!

      January 16, 2011
  2. That works much better (was fine before but now it POPS). Great job, as usual!!!

    January 16, 2011
  3. Lovely! You really have a great collection and it does fill your wall nicely. I found a great oval gold mirror for $3 at a yard sale and I have considered painting it too.

    January 16, 2011
  4. Looks super! Love that you built off of the the orignal arrangement. White looks very pretty.

    January 16, 2011
  5. Melinda Burke #

    Susan it looks Great! I love mirrors too, my friends use to say “you must be vain that you have so many mirrors” what they don’t know is that they make a room seem larger, and besides I just like them!

    January 16, 2011
  6. I am glad to know that I am not the only one who is constantly tweaking this or that around the house. I love your cluster of mirrors!!!

    January 17, 2011
  7. Although I don’t buy them only because I have no place to put them, I adore old mirrors and picture frames. Your collection is very nice and it looks like you can keep adding as you find them.

    January 21, 2011
  8. Aja #

    I love your dresser! I think we own the exact same one you can see my makeover here-
    http://ajaleesweetlife.blogspot.com/2010/05/look-for-less.html
    All your refinished furniture is is just lovely. I am stopping by from Funky Junk Interiors : )

    January 23, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

