Skip to content
The power of flowers

Flowers are the sweetest things God ever made, and forgot to put a soul into.  ~Henry Beecher, Life Thoughts, 1858

One of my favorite parts of traveling to big cities is the abundance of outdoor flower markets.

It seems they are on every corner.

I can never resist stopping and appreciating the beautiful colors and fragrances.

These photos were taken on our trip to Rome last summer.

Flowers have the ability to lift the spirit…that’s why we take them to people who are sick. They have a special way of brightening a day or bringing a smile.

I make it a point to have fresh flowers in our home all year long, but especially during winter when brown, gray and white are nature’s palette of choice.

It’s such a small thing that feels like a big indulgence.

A seven dollar bundle of tulips from the grocery store makes me happier than a dozen long stemmed roses.

No fancy arrangements for me. Just fresh cut flowers in a pitcher or jar make me happy each time I pass through the room.

That’s the power of flowers.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. {aka} | design #

    TOTALLY agree!!! Love flowers…fresh are the best. But sometimes really good silk ones (some are so well-designed now they look real) do the trick too!
    Shannon
    http://www.akadesign.ca

    January 17, 2011
  2. I so agree. When I was first married, my Tommy would often stop along side the road and pick me wild flowers. Life has gotten so busy that it has been a while since I got wild flowers. But just a simple vase of flowers can make the soul fill uplifted. I do believe that the Lord knew there would be a sort of healing power in them.

    January 17, 2011
  3. Melinda Burke #

    Thanks, flowers always lift my spirts!

    January 17, 2011
  4. Loving all the pictures of Rome’s market! Wow!
    I totally concur with you! 😉
    In fact, I found some Paperwhite bulbs on clearance at Target last night.
    I’ll be ready for Spring anyway, but I can watch them grow.
    I get my Winter bouquets at Aldi. They are just $4.00.
    Are we sure that flowers don’t have souls? 😉
    HUGS,
    me

    January 17, 2011
  5. Just what I needed~ I can almost smell them! 🙂

    January 18, 2011
  6. Dreamy sigh….
    I need some of those pale pink beauties… I have JUST the jar for them. Thanks for posting the beautiful Rome pictures. I don’t think I’ve ever had the pleasure of walking BY an outdoor market like that.

    January 18, 2011
  7. Mel #

    They really do add a touch of simplified beauty and life to a room. I rarely buy flowers for myself, but I should, more often 🙂

    I didn’t find a single butterfly knob at Micheals 😦

    January 19, 2011
    • Mel, I was there yesterday and they had plenty. It’s the Dorval Drive one off of the QEW. Let me know if you want me to pick some up for you!

      January 19, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

