Skip to content
Methuselah part one

I normally post before and afters in one nice, neat post. Before. After. Done. Well, not this time. You’re just getting the before. Cause I’m not sure there will be an after! This is going to be one challenging makeover to say the least. I can paint/refinish any piece of furniture and make it look pretty. But reconstruction? Not my specialty!

Check out the lovely I found at Goodwill yesterday for $9.99. Pretty sure I took out a few small children doing the “outta-my-way run/walk” that I do when I see an awesome thrifty find. C’mon, you know the one. 😉

This baby is old. Like Methuselah old. Well 969 years old might be a slight exaggeration. But I’m pretty sure I found George and Martha Washington’s marriage certificate in one of the no-knobbed drawers. 😉

Besides being geriatric, Methuselah also needs hip replacement surgery. He is verrrrry wonky.

Armed with a mallet and some Gorilla Glue…I took started putting him back together like a puzzle. Gorilla Glue is a really strong adhesive. It sticks wood together very well….fingers, too. That’s why I’m typing this one-handed!

So I’m in the reconstruction phase of this project. Hopefully it will go smoothly so I can get on with the beautification…my favorite part.

Can’t you just see it? This is going to be GAW-geous!

Stay tuned…

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. e;aine #

    Can’t wait to see the after- I always love your projects-
    and the fun you share with us all as you go through the project.

    Thanks so much!

    PS. Loved the kids table the other day!!

    January 20, 2011
  2. I would have been knocking those kids down too. Great bones. I have confidence the hip repair will go just fine and the patient will look like new. Great details! Can’t wait to see! and thanks for my laugh of the day (I too have had my own ‘gorilla glue’ incident).

    January 20, 2011
  3. YOU CAN DO IT!

    January 20, 2011
  4. Ido #

    Wow! You scored big time girl! I love that dresser! Good luck with the beautification, can’t wait to see it. I’m guessing white paint??????????

    January 20, 2011
  5. You are a brave one! Can’t wait to see the results!

    January 20, 2011
    • Bland Reddy #

      hmmm… will it be a keeper or a seller???

      January 20, 2011
      • Bland…good question! Depends on how it turns out!

        January 20, 2011
  6. yes- i can see it! it IS going to be gorgeous. i would have taken our children and grannies for that, too.

    January 20, 2011
  7. Mel #

    You crack me up.

    It really is beautiful, I can see how you were able to see it’s potential. I know that you are going to do something incredible with it.

    January 20, 2011
  8. Sharmin #

    You are too funny…and talented! I can’t wait to see what you do with it!!!

    January 20, 2011
  9. Forget the kids, I’d have been knocking YOU down!

    January 20, 2011
  10. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. #

    I would be thrilled to find this in my Goodwill! Can’t wait to see the result. Have fun!

    January 21, 2011
  11. loooovvvveeeee this piece, and can’t wait to see what you do to it!

    January 21, 2011
  12. I hope you are able to fix it up! It has a lot of potential. Love your blog and all your projects, will become a new follower 🙂

    January 21, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Methuselah part deux « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

