Skip to content
Methuselah part deux

Remember Methuselah from yesterday’s post?

Well, I’m happy to report that he came through his hip surgery with flying colors…he’s one tough old dude.

Now onto the beautification phase of this makeover!

I usually envision a color for a piece the minute I buy it. I knew this one had to be pale gray. Β I had visions of staining the top and painting the bottom. That would have been so purdy! But the top was not in the best shape.

Sure, I could have sanded for hours on end to fix it up but I didn’t. It is colder than a well-digger’s backside out in my garage and I just wasn’t that motivated.

So I settled on Ben Moore’s Gull Wing Gray. I used an oil-based Melamine paint, so there was no sanding or priming needed. Oh, happy day. It only took two coats to get beautiful coverage.

The hardest part of this makeover was choosing the hardware. Oh, how I wish the original hardware would have been left on by whoever donated it. It left me perplexed and bumfuzzled.

I had my heart set on glass knobs and I had just enough left over from Hobby Lobby but they were missing nuts. Don’t laugh.

So off to Home Depot I went and was using their little gauge to see what size I needed and dropped the glass knob and broke it. Then I did my best Yosemite Sam impersonation “Rattin Smattin varmint….” and scared all the men off the hardware aisle. πŸ™‚

Back to the drawing board. I needed 8 knobs. The glass knobs at Home Depot are around 7 bucks apiece. That’s $56 plus tax. The dresser was only $9.99. Β Not gonna do it…wouldn’t be prudent.

The cheapest and most delicate antique reproduction knobs they had were $1.29 each but were kinda brassy. So I brought them home and spray painted them Heirloom White.

I wanted a very crisp, clean look for this dresser. No distressing or glazing, no siree . Β I wanted that beautiful applique to take center stage and blend in with the freshly painted hardware. So I highlighted the details with some acrylic paint in Parchment and a tiny brush.

So without any further yammering…here is the after…

I like him. Uh-lot.

Just one more quickie before and after:

Have a fantastic weekend!

Linking up here:
Furniture Feature FridaysBCD 125The DIY Show OffMake it Yours @ My Backyard EdenPhotobucketgiveawayscalm+breeze+banner+friday.jpgChic on a Shoestring DecoratingPhotobucket

MuralMaker and MoreFunky Junk's Sat Nite Special

55 Comments Post a comment
  1. Renee #

    wow! You work fast!!! Beautiful job!

    January 21, 2011
    • Patti #

      Wow! Just beautiful…and I love the colors!

      January 27, 2011
  2. He looks very very very nice. I like the curves and the applique. And I totally agree…HD’s glass knob price has stopped me in my tracks several times. INSANE!
    Shannon
    {aka}|design

    January 21, 2011
  3. e;aine #

    THAT’S AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    January 21, 2011
  4. You deserve an award for this one! In LOVE!

    January 21, 2011
  5. It is gorgeous!! I am so jealous of your thrift store finds. We never have anything this pretty ever in our stores! What a great find and a great re-do!

    January 21, 2011
  6. Another great transformation! I love it, great job! C

    January 21, 2011
  7. Kim #

    What a beauty. I hope I can find some cheap pieces to bring back to life. Thanks for joining again.

    January 21, 2011
  8. Ido #

    Ok light gray works, I was close! It looks soooo pretty, I’m wondering where in heaven you have space for all that furniture, you should send some of those pieces to me. LOL!

    January 21, 2011
  9. oh methusala, just doesn’t suit that lovely piece anymore. so bright and elegant now. bummer about the knob…….lol, ‘not gonna do it…..wouldn’t be prudent’. i say, after that hardwork, take the weekend off!

    January 21, 2011
  10. Ok this has to be the re-do of the year! really awesome vision you got girl!

    January 21, 2011
  11. Kathtleen Fullerton #

    Well you’ve really done it this time. Who would have thought this piece would even stand on it’s on, let alone become a bautiful piece of furniture. Atta girl !!

    January 21, 2011
  12. So cute, good for you not giving up on a broken piece!
    It looks so pretty.

    January 21, 2011
  13. marilyn elsenpeter #

    That is just amazing. I wondered (I’m from Minnesota so all work in garage has ceased) where you were finishing all these great pieces, but some people have a dedicated room indoors for this kind of work. You continue to inspire me, my half finished projects will get done, as soon as the temp hits 50 again!!

    January 21, 2011
  14. Wow~ What a beautiful re-do! It came out absolutely wonderful! I love the color you chose and how the applique is highlighted a bit. They have glass knobs at Target- for less than you are finding at HD- but not super cheap either way- just thought I would share. πŸ™‚

    January 21, 2011
  15. Gorgeous! Love your blog & what u do… But how the heck do u paint so well?? sounds like the oil-based melamine makes it easier, but I have to do mine indoors. Just bought 2 $10 old thrift store side chairs I am now repainting (YUK!) & reupholstered the seats (love it). Sanded, 2 coats primer, 3 coats Ben Moore fume-free paint. Expensive brush. Used scant amt of paint, yet still drips. Had to sand some down but they still show. 2nd chair has less drips (but still some). im practically dry-brushing to avoid drips, yet while the just-painted side is smooth, it drips onto the other side. Im chasing after them & some partially dry by the time I see them. So smoothing them down just roughs/clumps up the surface. YEESH!!!!

    January 21, 2011
    • Kathie, I use a roller. I think that is the difference. I only use a brush for trimwork. Hope that helps!

      January 21, 2011
      • aaaah…. that would make a big difference! But on a little sidechair, I don’t think I could’ve used a roller. 😦 (Unless they make tiny rollers?) But thx for that tip- I had just decided NOT to paint an old drop leaf table I just bought, after the trouble w/these chairs. But now, I guess I could, since I could use a roller on the tabletop so at least most of it’d look good! I want to paint it off white but SOMEHOW paint/stencil in black, a quote in old-looking French, all the way around the top. Any idea on the best way I could do the words?

        January 22, 2011
      • Kathie, If it helps…chairs are the WORST! I almost always spray paint them. Use Rust-oleum Painters Touch 2x coverage in Heirloom White. You can find it at Home Depot. As for the table, I would use a roller for the top and legs and then fill in the details with a brush. Not sure what brand of brush you are using but the one I use is the Purdy XL cub. You can also find it at Home Depot. As far as the stenciling…what a wonderful idea. I am no help whatsoever with that. Probably a stencil and latex paint but then I would sand over it to give it an aged look. You will definitely need to seal it so it won’t knick/chip.

        January 22, 2011
  16. tina #

    this turned out really well, can’t believe that was only two coats of paint!!

    January 21, 2011
  17. Uh yeah…he did clean up nice only now I would refer to him as she πŸ™‚

    January 21, 2011
  18. Jamie #

    WOW WOW WOW!! Absolutely beautiful!!

    January 21, 2011
  19. Oh! My! Goodness! B-e-a-u-t-i-f-u-l!!!! Just plain beautiful!!

    January 21, 2011
  20. I had to laugh at your description of the temperature in your garage! I’d heard another version from my late husband. Your work shines and looks great! Thanks for sharing. β™₯β™«

    January 22, 2011
  21. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. #

    I love it! Perfect shade of gray, cute little knobs, lovey details!

    January 22, 2011
  22. Sharon #

    Amazing transformation. I’m glad you didn’t distress him – he had already gone through enough.

    January 22, 2011
  23. thx for saying chairs r the worst, lol! Now I don’t feel so bad… πŸ™‚ I took your suggestion & bought an angled Purdy brush, but Im going to take your suggestion & use a roller on the table top & legs, & just use the brush on the trim. Not sure exactly how I’ll create my own stencil w/my French saying, but I’ll Google it. Sanding the words to ‘age’ them- genius! And if i ever do chairs again, i’ll wait till spring & spray paint them outside! πŸ™‚

    January 22, 2011
  24. Very nice! I love the way it turned out :o)

    January 22, 2011
  25. What a stunning piece! Love the color – very classic and timeless. A beauty!

    January 22, 2011
  26. So so so pretty!!! I’m pretty much obsessed with gray lately…so this is just BEAUTIFUL! I Love it!!!

    Thank you so much for linking up to “20 Below Thursday”! I hope you come back again soon! πŸ™‚

    January 22, 2011
  27. Mel #

    You’re funny and talented πŸ™‚

    You may have guessed by now that I’m a big fan of grey, so you know I absolute love this. But the best thing about this is how it went from “who on earth would drag this home” to “wow, wanna come over and live with me, good looking?”.

    January 22, 2011
  28. Mel #

    btw, I’ll be attempting that trip to Hamilton again tomorrow. I’ll be sure to bring my camera and I’ll let you know if I find any great deals on fabric. I’m going to pop into Michaels on Dorval to get some of those butterfly knobs. Are they actual knobs or something else you’ve modified to work as knobs? (cause I know you can do that too)

    January 22, 2011
    • Mel, they are real knobs. As you walk into the store turn left and walk toward scrapbooking, turn right at the first wide aisle and the dollar bins are right there. They are on the right side almost to the end, in one of the lower bins. Have fun in Hamilton…could you have picked a colder day to go? πŸ˜‰

      January 22, 2011
  29. That is a simply stunning makeover — sorry about your glass knobs. Things like that drive me batty! You did a great job!!

    January 22, 2011
  30. What a funny story! πŸ™‚ The dresser turned out so lovely! Do you get to keep it?

    January 22, 2011
  31. It like him uh-lot too!

    January 22, 2011
  32. Erin #

    WOW !!! My eyebrows are way up….this is just beautiful… You have a fabulous eye for detail & I wonder if the person who donated the chest reads your blog…and is then kicking themselves.
    Thanks so much for sharing… just beautiful!!!

    January 22, 2011
  33. GORGEOUS!!! I cannot believe you only spent $9.99 on this beauty, and what a job “vision” you had for the paint color!

    January 22, 2011
  34. It is so lovely!! Thanks so much for linking it up to Style Feature Saturday!! -shaunna πŸ™‚

    January 22, 2011
  35. Another fabulous makeover!!!!!
    XO
    Kristin

    January 22, 2011
  36. THAT. IS. BEAUTIFUL. end of story.

    January 22, 2011
  37. I can NOT believe that’s the same dresser. Just Gor-Jus lady …. I bet if the previous owner saw what it could be they would want it back.

    January 22, 2011
  38. Thanks so much for the comment on my desk makeover blog! πŸ™‚ It’s very fulfilling to me when someone who does that a lot thinks I did a good job. πŸ™‚ I am LOVING the extra counterspace and the island looks really great in my kitchen. I’m pretty proud of it. I’m not on a mission to find other projects to do, but I’m running out of space in my house!! I like your blog, following now so I can get some ideas for the future.

    January 22, 2011
    • Err I’m **NOW** on a mission, oops. I typed not.

      January 22, 2011
  39. How darling! I love it! And can I just say that I love your blog title? I always wonder how people come up with their titles. Yours is perfect!

    Would love for you to drop by and link up to Passion for Paint this weekend.

    http://MuralMaker1.blogspot.com

    January 23, 2011
  40. audreypettit #

    Beautiful transformation! I’m so sorry you dropped your glass drawer pull, but the dresser really turned out fabulous, just the same. Love the colors you chose and love how the medallion stands out.

    January 23, 2011
  41. Hi, there! I love your latest trash to treasure project and featured it today! Question, I feature you so much…would you like to guest post this Thursday or next? I know it’s short notice. You can share a collection of your awesome revamps!

    Hop to hear from you soon!

    January 25, 2011
  42. Wow, what.a.transformation! I never would’ve even given that dresser a second look. But now, I can’t stop staring at it in all of it’s glory! You did such a beautiful job…and can I just say, that color…LOVE it!

    Saw you at Finding Fabulous!

    January 25, 2011
  43. Vicki K #

    So if you had been in the possession of the original hardware – I’m guessing a dark brown brass (?) – what would you have done with it? Kept it dark? Painted it? Something else?

    February 19, 2012
    • Hi Vicki, I definitely would have kept it. I always try to use the original hardware on older pieces. Sometimes I just clean it up, sometimes I paint it. It just depends…:)

      February 19, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Methuselah part deux Β« Maple & Magnolia -- Topsy.com
  2. January Recap « Maple & Magnolia
  3. meet Polly and her twin sister Urethane « Maple & Magnolia
  4. top ten furniture projects of 2011 | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

