Skip to content
copy cat

You know what they say…imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. If that’s the case, then Sarah @the yellow cape cod should be highly flattered.

I saw her drapes featured this week and was blown away!

Aren’t they amazing?

Well, I got a new sewing machine a few weeks ago and I’ve been waiting for the right project to come along.

This was it!

We have some challenging windows in the family room.

They are super tall. I wanted to add panels to the side windows without going up to the very top. But traditional length drapes are too short.

I bought these IKEA drapes from a garage sale a while ago for next to nothing. They are super long and have been hanging in our kitchen with the foot of extra fabric hidden behind the chest.

Perfect for my copy cat project.

I sewed 4-14″ strips of black broadcloth onto each panel. This project was so easy…even for a novice sewer like me.

And here they are…

I love how they look. They are perfect for this space!

Thanks for the inspiration, Sarah!

Linking up here:

PhotobucketChic on a Shoestring Decorating Photobucket/

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. Looks great! I love it when I find just the right inspiration for a project!

    January 24, 2011
  2. Awesome…I love these…perfect for your windows…which are beautiful!!!

    January 24, 2011
  3. oh i love how they frame your fireplace- they couldn’t be more perfect!

    January 24, 2011
  4. Perfect!

    January 24, 2011
  5. Mel #

    You did a marvelous job. Your windows are beautiful and you have really made that wall a focal point by adding the dramatic drapery. (not that the fireplace wasn’t a focal point). I’ve never seen your windows in any of your photos; if they were mine, I’d take pictures of them every day 🙂

    January 24, 2011
  6. These look great! What a great approach for such tall windows.

    January 24, 2011
  7. Love ’em…they look gorgeous on your dramatic windows – well done!

    January 25, 2011
  8. Great job!!! I love those stripes….I saw them over at the Yellow Cape Cod….you both did a fantastic job!

    January 25, 2011
  9. They look amazing in your windows!

    January 25, 2011
  10. Amazing! I love the tall windows, and the drapes really dress it up!

    January 25, 2011
  11. Wow, these look great. Thanks for the shout out. I appreciate you linking back to my blog. They are so dramatic on your gorgeous windows. I also love the other pair you made with the peacock blue fabric. Very pretty. Thanks again, Sarah @ The Yellow Cape Cod

    January 26, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. more drapes and a rabbit trail « Maple & Magnolia
  2. recycled t-shirt totes « Maple & Magnolia
  3. January Recap « Maple & Magnolia
  4. If you buy a bargain chair… « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

