Skip to content
more drapes and a rabbit trail

I was so tickled with my copy cat drapes that I made another pair. I had to. Cause I robbed Peter to pay Paul and used my kitchen drapes for my family room. That nekked kitchen window was begging to be beautified.

I had a single tab top panel that I found at Goodwill. No earthly idea why I bought a single panel. Anyway, I only needed narrow panels for the kitchen window so I cut it in half and seamed the sides back up. Problem solved.

The next problem with the tab top panels was that they were 25 inches too short for the window.

When I was in Nashville for the Garth Brooks concert I popped in to JoAnn’s fabrics. How I love that store. How I wish we had that store here in Canada.

Here’s a photo of Jake and I on Music Row before the concert…don’t think I shared these on here. What is UP with my bangs? Look how tall my 16 year old is! It seems like only yesterday I was tying his shoes. 😦

WHERE WAS I? Oh yeah, I bought a half a yard of fabric that I LOVED while I was there. I figured I’d use it to reupholster some chair pads. (This is showing up really dark, but it is a beautiful peacock blue.)

Well ding ding ding…the lightbulb came on. Add the pretty fabric to the bottom of the plain tab top panels.

I did. And I used the leftover fabric to add a band at the top. I used every single bit of that fabric.

Don’t mind the wrinkles…I’m hoping they will fall out eventually. 😉

I love them cause I sewed them with my own two hands. They make me happy.

So happy that I’m about to utter three words that I never thought would ever come out of my mouth.

Are you ready?

Sewing………is………..fun.

Seriously. I’m hooked.

 

Linking up here:

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. I LOVE that material too. Great thinking. Now you know why you got a single curtain at goodwill. Joanne’s is 15 minutes from me and I could spend all day there. BUT I haven’t seen the bargains you find at your goodwill at our local store. ps, your bangs look fine and I love the neon backdrop, esp since it says BBQ.

    January 25, 2011
  2. Bland Reddy #

    I smell a future quilting blog!

    January 25, 2011
    • Oohhhh, Bland! In my dreams! That is the next thing I want to learn to do.

      January 25, 2011
      • Viola Stuckey #

        Thank you for sharing your inspirations and adventures. I loved the fabric…while I don’t sew much myself, I’m addicted to fabric like I am scrapbooking paper. The curtains turned out great! I look forward to hearing about your other sewing adventures!

        January 25, 2011
  3. Mel #

    *clapping* Good work Susan! If you can tackle sewing the way you tackle furniture redos, you will be a pro in no time at all.

    I’m itching to sew something but can’t find any fabric I really want 😦

    January 25, 2011
  4. You are way busy! Ans with good projects also!

    January 25, 2011
  5. I love them. I need to get my sewing machine out again. I have let so many things come before my love of sewing. You did an awesome job. The two tone colors blend so well.

    January 26, 2011
  6. <3. Sewing IS fun!

    January 26, 2011
  7. Jim #

    You rock! I’m sad our baby is 16, too. But, what a great memory the concert wil be. Love what you do to make our home beautiful!

    January 26, 2011
  8. Great fabric! It is quite an adjustment getting used to our boys being taller than us, I think. Mine are 12 and almost 14 and they passed Mom a while ago. Sad.

    January 26, 2011
  9. Gorgeous! I’m a fan of gravity as the best form of ironing! 🙂

    January 26, 2011
  10. Thanks for the sweet comment on my blog! You really do have mad talents also…so creative. I used to have more time to do what you do but with work it takes me forever to finish a project now 🙂

    January 26, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. recycled t-shirt totes « Maple & Magnolia
  2. January Recap « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

