Skip to content
Vera Bradley Vanity

I shared this project yesterday at Finding Fabulous. I thought I’d repost it here in case anyone missed it!

At Value Village, this beauty stopped me in my tracks.

I had no idea what it was at first, I thought maybe a Spinet desk. Once I lifted the lid, it became clear.

A phonograph. My first thought was, “I love this.” Β My second thought was, “How can I transform it into something beautiful and useful?”

I stood there staring at it for a full minute and then it came to me…a vanity.

So I brought it home, cleaned it up and removed all the parts from the inside.

All that remained were these gaping holes. Not pretty.

So I cut some plywood to fit the openings and covered them in this happy Vera Bradley fabric.

Meanwhile, I painted the inside and outside of the vanity-to-be in my favorite PARA melamine oil-based black paint.

I bought a mirror from Dollarama and added some green and pink bling for a touch of glam.

Now before I show you the “after” let’s talk about the vanity chair.

I found this vintage vanity chair at a garage sale last summer. Poor thing has been in my garage waiting for the right project to come along. Today was its lucky day.

I spray painted it with Rust-oleum Painter’s Touch in glossy black. Then covered the seat in Vera Bradley fabric and some suh-weet pom pom fringe. Cause everything is cuter with pom pom fringe. I think I need that on a bumper sticker!

I replaced the knob with a glass one, popped the fabric covered plywood into place and hung the mirror…

and VOILA…

a phonograph-turned-Vera Bradley vanity!

Mission accomplished.

Have a great weekend!

Linking up at these par-tays:
Domestically SpeakinggiveawaysChic on a Shoestring Decorating

 

25 Comments Post a comment
  1. I came over from Jane’s blog to tell you that you did a great job on that vanity. Love it!!

    Love,
    Susan and Bentley
    xxoo

    January 28, 2011
  2. That is so cute, and very creative! Thanks for linking over to my blog, sorry about those chairs, just go to thrift stores I’m sure you’ll find some more.

    January 28, 2011
  3. Sorry, wrong blog πŸ™‚ But I do love this vanity!

    January 28, 2011
  4. Theresa #

    Wow- that is absolutely beautiful!! You are so talented and creative! Love it!

    January 28, 2011
  5. How much was the glass knob and did you purchase it online? I have been searching for that style glass knob, but need a bunch. I am really not wanting to spend a ton of money on them. 😦

    January 28, 2011
    • Hi Stephanie, I bought it at a local shop and I think it was around $7. Have you tried Hobby Lobby? They have the best knob selection (and prices) of anyone and they have it 50% off every few weeks. Hope this helps!

      January 28, 2011
  6. Mel #

    What a gem. It’s absolutely lovely (one can call things lovely after the age of 45, right?)

    I did see this on Finding Fabulous, but the ancient browser that we use at work wouldn’t allow me to see the captcha phrase, to post my comment…grrr. Just as well as I should be working, not blog stalking.

    We should get together for that coffee we talked about and hit up some of our favourite stores soon.

    January 28, 2011
  7. Mel #

    I just noticed that the cup/vase has the paisley pattern on it. You don’t miss a beat when it comes to creating beautiful settings.

    January 28, 2011
    • Mel, believe it or not I found that paisley vera bradley cup at goodwill over the summer for my daughter’s room. πŸ™‚ Yes, let’s do coffee soon!

      January 28, 2011
  8. Melinda Burke #

    Susan
    You did a GREAT job on this vanity!!!! Are you gonna keep it for yourself or are you selling it?

    January 28, 2011
  9. Lindsay #

    what do you do with these things? do you sell them on an ebay site or something?

    January 28, 2011
  10. Lindsay #

    Nevermind! Just saw your current listings!

    January 28, 2011
  11. You continue to amaze me!

    January 28, 2011
  12. Carol Thomas #

    That is absolutely amazing I want it!!! I can’t wait to have the time in my life to do that kind of fix it stuff again. I have been trying to re-do my dining room for about 2 years tried to paint it and the color was UGLY so now I want to strip it and cant seem to find the time. You should come and visit we can do it together. Maybe I could just send you photos and you can give me advice. Carol

    January 28, 2011
  13. Jackie #

    THis vanity is amazing!! I love it. I will be keeping my eye out for a piece of furniture like this. WOW

    January 28, 2011
  14. This is just wonderful!!! I have a friend who designs a lot of the Vera Bradley prints, so I will pass this on to her (no, she doesn’t blog!) You did a really great job here.

    January 28, 2011
  15. What a great transformation! I love that you not only made it pretty, but made it into a functional piece too (and the fabric adds such a fun touch). I’ve not heard of PARA paint before, but what a nice finish you get with that! It looks professionally done – I’m assuming you brushed it on or did you spray it?

    Thanks so much for linking up to the party today! Have a great weekend…

    January 28, 2011
  16. omg i LOVE this! So prettyyy! I am jealous, I want one now.

    January 28, 2011
  17. Candace #

    I LOVE Vera Bradley!! And so does my 11 year old daughter…trying to work the patterns into her room….this is a great idea!

    January 28, 2011
  18. This is amazing!

    January 28, 2011
  19. Carrie #

    wow, that is beautiful. it looks so good.

    January 29, 2011
  20. helene sullivan #

    just beautiful!!! I love your style!!

    January 29, 2011
  21. OMG, could this BE any cuter? Great job!

    February 6, 2011
  22. Wonderful renovation πŸ™‚ and I like your combination of colors.

    February 6, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. January Recap « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

